Serving In The Season

“Life is short and we have never too much time for gladdening the hearts of those who are travelling the dark journey with us. Oh be swift to love, make haste to be kind.”  — Henri Frederick Amiel

First Landing, again 006

I sat on my sofa admiring the view outside. Sun dappled the tall still pines. What a beautiful, warm day I thought. As I got closer to the window I noticed those tall pines were not so still; the upper portions were swaying and the limbs and needles were waving good morning. The sun might have been smiling, but I opened the door to be bitten by the wind.

My assumptions were based only on my sense of sight. Even that was limited as I was looking through a window frame. Not only did I not see the whole picture, but I couldn’t view it clearly because the glass was muted. I had made an assessment without using all of my senses. How often do I do that I wondered. It’s probably more often than I’d like to admit.

While my vision is narrow, I can see and feel more when I use my heart. I can use my heart to hear the words unspoken…you know the sentences between the sentences. I remind myself of this ability which should never remain unused.

How many suffer in silence? Is it simply because I don’t see? Or does the blame rest with them because they didn’t speak up? Perhaps they choose to suffer alone. People, personalities, and problems are complex. Everyone knows someone who is obviously in pain…you can see it in the way they walk or stand; you can even read it in their eyes. However, you ask them how they are and they’ll tell you great and how life has blessed them.  Then, there are those people who zip up and down the stairs in stilettos and you ask how they are and they will spend hours telling you about every ache, pain, and how the world is out to get them. It makes one wonder if the latter are suffering on a much deeper level in which they aren’t willing to speak. I confess I get annoyed with these people. I remind myself we each have our own journey to travel.

The holiday season brings out the best in some and the worst in others. We have those who frantically and rudely dash about while we have those who casually and compassionately stride spreading cheer wherever they are.  Which do you choose to be? It’s a conscious decision. Really, it is. While most of us are dealing with deadlines and budgets, we can choose to work with time management and creativity.

We generally reap what we sow.  It is time to give what we wish to receive. We have a choice in what we bestow to the world. We can choose to be kind. We can choose to be generous. We can choose to love. We can choose to be grateful for our blessings. We can choose to be a blessing to others.

“If compassion was the motivating factor behind all of our decisions, would our world not be a completely different place?” –Sheryl Crow

29 thoughts on “Serving In The Season

  1. I always try to spread cheer – because even though we are going through tough times, I always think that somewhere someone has it worse than us, and I should just be thankful for what we have. Happy Monday!

  2. Faaaaaaaaaabulous post, Suzi! And perfect for this time of the year!

    ” It is time to give what we wish to receive. We have a choice in what we bestow to the world. We can choose to be kind. We can choose to be generous. We can choose to love. We can choose to be grateful for our blessings. We can choose to be a blessing to others.”

    Thank you and I so totally agree! I needed to hear this today, because being in retail, I can sometimes get drawn into the franticness of it all. So thank you for the reminder!

    Have a wonderful Monday and week, my friend!

    X

  3. What special reminders you offer about the ongoing “choices” we have. Recently I’ve realized, both from my own experiences and from what others tell me…. that you just never know who might be hurting…and that kindness and cheer offered in all directions, as often as one can, might be received with deep appreciation by those we aren’t even aware are in need or taking it… I’m learning….”you just never know…..” …and therefore to continue “offering…..” as much and as often as possible…

      • Suzicate, may I use a quote from some of your words in this post? They fit nicely on some pages I’ve been creating the past few weeks, using some words from the song “Calling all angels” (I think I might add some of “my pages” to the upper “pages” section of my own blog…it’s such a beautiful song and your words are so supportive of those ideas) The words I really resonated with: “Which do you choose to be? It’s a conscious decision. Really, it is.We generally reap what we sow. It is time to give what we wish to receive. We have a choice in what we bestow to the world. We can choose to be kind. We can choose to be generous. We can choose to love. We can choose to be grateful for our blessings. We can choose to be a blessing to others.”

  4. Now Suzicate, you know I zip up and down stairs in stilettos every day. I vacuum in them. I wear them with my nightgown and robe. I wash windows in them. And I hardly ever complain about my aches and pains, except my poor little toe that is still hurting something fierce. Okay, never mind that. Nobody is out to get me either. I think it’s a miracle that we live such charmed lives when you get right down to it.

    • Ha ha, I wasn’t talking about you! You are the only person I know who can do all that in stilettos! And you’re not the complaining kind! Perhaps I’m jealous because I couldn’t walk three feet in them! But yes, we do lived a charmed life if we think about it.

  5. This is perfect for the Christmas season, Suzi! I generally try to spread cheer because there’s enough gloom-and-doom to go around without adding to it. But I know just what you mean about those who are quick to give you (in way more detail than you want or need to hear) information about their misery. I’m inclined to believe there’s something deeper that they’re NOT saying — sadly, not too many will wait out the details to get to the meat of the issue, though.

  6. We can choose to be a blessing to others. Or, we can serve as a horrible warning to others! Yes, how we respond, react and interact is a choice we choose every day. Lovely words and reminder to look kindly upon everyone…even those that serve as a horrible warning! 🙂

  7. This really got me thinking about the quality of compassion.
    There are those who don’t have it.
    There are those who make themselves have it – because it makes them feel good about themselves.
    Then there are those who have and act on it as naturally as one has the urge to stroke a kitten.
    I wonder if one can progress from stage one through stage two to stage three?

  8. I think that final quote by Sheryl Crow sums this up beautifully. We never know the depth of anothers person’s burdens and while we may see them as annoying, they may be on their way home from visiting a parent with Alzheimers for instance. We can never go wrong by being kind and gentle with everyone. That’s what I think anyways.

Leave a Reply

