Doing What You Love

“I think people who are creative are the luckiest people on earth. I know that there are no shortcuts, but you must keep your faith in something Greater than You, and keep doing what you love. Do what you love, and you will find the way to get it out to the world.” ~Judy Collins 

I think the majority of us dream of forgetting about the bills and following our passions, but we have responsibilities…so we indulge in our hobbies in our free time, thinking we’ll have more time when the kids grow up or when we retire. Or we think we can’t afford to chase our dreams until the kids finish college or we have a hefty nest egg put aside. And sometimes before we know it, life has passed us by.

While creating excites us, the end product gives us great joy and peace. We are gifted with talent for a reason whether it’s to bring fulfillment to ourselves or pleasure to others.  It is up to us to tap into our resources. It’s surprising where the quest may lead us.

We each have talents and hobbies. Some of us work full time in these endeavors and others use them as outlets. Currently, the hubby and I enjoy our passions on our downtime. Fortunately, we have similar interests so most of the time we mesh and travel this journey together. Not much gives me more delight than to watch his passion in action. I truly believe when we partake in the activities which feed us spiritually our gifts shine.

When we are out and about on our excursions, we both take lots of photographs.  My photography is totally amateur, mostly taken to accompany my blog posts. Dirt Man takes his photography to an entirely new level. He has a keen eye and his post processing skills are amazing. I love to watch his progression as much as being wowed by his end result. I enjoy sneaking in a few shots of him working and playing. He will stoop, climb, or scuttle to get the perfect angle…and that he does!

Thoroughgood House and Great Neck Park 051

First Landing 008

Chesapeake, VA 079

IMG_5036

IMG_5040

IMG_4213

IMG_4963

IMG_4998

Every photographer needs an assistant. Dirt Man’s is Wylie!

IMG_5145

IMG_5191

Dirt Man’s endless pursuit of sunrises, sunsets, comets, stars, storms, and the simple beauty of nature result in masterpieces like this!

Rudee Inlet Sunrise

24 thoughts on “Doing What You Love

  1. Suzi, I truly love how you said this…

    “We are gifted with talent for a reason whether it’s to bring fulfillment to ourselves or pleasure to others. It is up to us to tap into our resources. It’s surprising where the quest may lead us.”

    Absolutely! I’ve heard/read several stories about people who end up making a career out of something they do, just for the LOVE of it!

    Wonderful photographs! And please tell Dirtman I think that last shot is STUPENDOUS! WOW!

    I can so see the two of you doing something together; using BOTH your talents. A picture book with your writing woven between the images!

    Have a beautiful weekend, my friend….X

  2. There is a tremendous joy and exuberance in doing what one loves as often as one can. It was neat, getting a glimpse here, of Dirt Man doing what he loves best and wow, look at the result. Many hours of passion resulting in a work of great beauty. What a life.

  3. Suzi, I had to grin when I saw Wylie helping — our dogs so want to be part of everything we do, don’t they? Dirt Man really goes to a lot of “trouble” for that perfect shot, but oh, how he’s rewarded with the finished product! It’s wonderful that y’all share a passion for similar things.

  4. He is so super talented! I love these. A day in the life of a photographer. It is funny how a few feet up or down, right or left, can really change a view or angle. So glad, he has you and Wylie to share his passion with. 🙂

  5. He does have awesome images, and I loved the sneak peeks of him at work (especially the one with Wylie laying down next to him – too cute!!) It’s obvious that photography is his passion. (I’m more like you – mine is amateur and mostly used in blog posts. I don’t really have the desire to take it to the next levels…that’s how I know it’s something I enjoy, but it’s not my true passion :))

  6. He is truly talented! I have one of his pictures as my screen saver at work – but I may need to replace it with that last picture!

    I moved my blog over to a self-hosted site – so if you go to mybizzykitchen.com on the right you can sign up again with email – I’ve been waiting for wordpress.com to transfer the subscriptions over, but it hasn’t happened yet.

    Thanks for finding me!

  7. What wonderful photography, from both of you. I wish we could all follow our dreams. What a blessing that you share interests and enjoy being together. That in itself is a dream for many. His photograph is amazing, yours look like a lot of fun!

  8. “In the beginning, God created……” ‘Nuff said! I love your shot of Dirt Man and Wylie! So adorable. Don’t discount your photography skills! That last shot is stunning!

Leave a Reply

