When You Can’t See For Looking

“The most pathetic person in the world is someone who has sight but no vision.” ― Helen Keller “

IMG_5176

The other day I woke up with a migraine. As my headache lessened my vision remained spotty. I felt dizzy and disoriented as the day progressed. I decided to go to the grocery store…talk about a joke. When the road became fuzzy, I knew something was wrong. I roamed up and down the aisles with products merging together and drifting away. Alas, I’d lost a contact lens! To top it off, I’d forgotten my grocery list. The hubby took a photo and texted it to me…not that I could read it! I did make it home safely and with all items purchased.

Have you ever not been able to see for looking? You know, looked for something in all the wrong places? Or perhaps looked to everyone else for answers when you held it yourself? I have, too many times to count.

This reminds me of the importance of keeping a clear head. Too often I jump to conclusions rather than letting things play out and seeing them for what they are. Things are not always as they appear. What are the facts and what are opinions?

It is also human nature to treat the symptoms rather than the cause. It’s imperative to go to the root of a situation if one wants lasting results. Again, it’s all about truth.

Today I plan to approach life with clear vision (with or without my contacts!).

I’m starting at the root…preconceived notions of inadequacy and simple procrastination.

I plan to do what I’ve been resisting. I’ve bundled the fear and tossed it out the window. I’ve rolled up my sleeves, and I’m digging in. I’ve decided to be friends with time and capability today. How about you?

24 thoughts on “When You Can’t See For Looking

  1. Your determination is uplifting, Susan. so far as jumping to the wrong conclusion I’d have to say I’ve been guilty of that many times i the past. It’s something I’m really trying hard to stop doing.

  2. When what we expect to see assumes an unexpected shape it disappears.Quote from a book about elephants i read years ago,

  3. “The most pathetic person in the world is someone who has sight but no vision.” ― Helen Keller “

    Suzi, I LOVE that quote! And it’s so true!

    You’ve shared a lot of insightful wisdom in this post, my friend.

    “It is also human nature to treat the symptoms rather than the cause. It’s imperative to go to the root of a situation if one wants lasting results. Again, it’s all about truth.”

    How true that is. And I know this from my work in Reiki energy. The physical is merely the symptom to the cause. And by going to the root, we get lasting results.

    And I applaud you for taking this experience you had, and looking DEEPER.

    “I plan to do what I’ve been resisting. I’ve bundled the fear and tossed it out the window. I’ve rolled up my sleeves, and I’m digging in.”

    You GO, girl!

    Have a fabulous weekend…..X

  4. I loved that first quote Suzi! And I’ve lost many a contact, but luckily I wear daily ones – just throw them out at the end of the day. I carry a dozen contacts in my purse just in case! 😀

    Happy Friday!

  5. “Friends with time and capability.” I’ve never heard that expression, Suzi, but I like it. Glad you made it home in one piece driving around without a contact. Hope you succeed at your task!

  6. Even blessed with far less than most of us, Helen Keller was a beautiful being who was so often profound with her thoughts and words. Me, I’m a consummate procrastinator. It’s a trait I’m aware of and choose to co-exist with. I’m not necessarily proud of it but I always get things accomplished and in quality ways. We all work with and on our strengths and lesser strengths. Yours = good words on which to reflect!

    • Yes, she was.
      I am surely a procrastinator. I waste much time deciding which project to work on. Perhaps, if I wasn’t such an ADD creative I wouldn’t have this problem. I just want to dabble in everything at once. Two bad I don’t have octopus arms, lol! At least, you complete what you start. I usually do, but it seems to take me way too long…but then again, that is my perception while I might really need that time of gestation for my projects to be ready to be brought to light.

  7. Great quote from Helen Keller! I’m glad you made it safely home from the grocery store. If I shop without a list, I wind up coming home with a bunch of stuff I didn’t need- and without the one thing I really did need 🙂

  8. I really love the insight Nancy gave. And I’m surprised you made it around as well as you did with a migraine! The truths in your piece are timeless. Thank you for reminding us of them!

  9. This was fun. Not the part about the migraine, but where it went from there. Isn’t it great to come home from the store with everything you went after? Especially when the list was left behind.

  10. Yes. Looking in the wrong places or to the wrong person. Good to be reminded to keep a clear head. This reminds me of the four agreements/Nia’s energy allies . . . not assuming. For me a jump to a conclusion is partially because I assumed something. I like the idea of approaching “life with clear vision”.

    One thing I always think is funny and I might have shared it with you before is my husband belief that he cannot see something when he knows it is not there. He will look for something . . . say in a closet, but he already KNOWS it is not there . . . so he honestly cannot see it. He will call me over and say, “I know it’s not there, can you see it?” And I will reach in and grab it and hand it to him. Weird how the mind works.

Leave a Reply

