This Thing Called Beauty

“For Attractive lips, speak words of kindness.
 For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.
 For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.
 For beautiful hair, let a child run their fingers through it once a day.
 For poise, walk with the knowledge that you never walk alone. 
 People, more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed. Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, you will find one at the end of each of your arms.
 As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself and the other for helping others.”  ~Sam Levenson

bronze statue

 

Like most people, I am enticed by physical beauty whether it is a person, a place, or a work of art. To be fully engaged I must be swayed by more than the sense of sight. In other words what is pleasing to the eye must also be comforting to the soul.

Personal beauty is depth of soul. I am attracted to compassionate people. People who are kind, sensitive, and generous of their time and resources have a vibrancy which can’t be achieved through silky clothes, thick makeup, or sparkling jewels. It is a humble confidence which speaks for itself; a genuine goodness. Love is the most beautiful attribute of all.

Many places are visual paradises. That alone is not enough. I must be able to hear the trickle of the stream or the singing of birds. I want to feel the tickle of wind or the warm sand beneath my feet. I want to smell the aromas around me whether it is cedar, lilac, or baking bread. I want to taste what my oasis offers me, be it rain, apples, or my own sweat or tears.  I want to feel as if I am a part of the scenery.

A work of art must stir my senses. It must touch a deeper part of me…I want to feel the music in my soul.

What is your description of beauty? What types of people attract you? What do you look for in an oasis? How does the beauty of art or life in general move you?

Spin Cycle: Description of Beauty

31 thoughts on “This Thing Called Beauty

  1. “…in other words what is pleasing to the eye must also be comforting to the soul.”

    Amen, Suzi! And as you shared, I too am enticed by physical beauty whether it is a person, place, or work of art. And I think that’s because I’m a very visual person. But you’re right…these things must also touch/connect to my soul.

    “What is your description of beauty? What types of people attract you? What do you look for in an oasis? How does the beauty of art or life in general move you?”

    My description of beauty is a rawness. And the types of people I’m attracted to are usually humorous, outspoken and are comfortable with themselves. My idea of an oasis is anything involving nature or a place that’s very historical and old. And beauty, whether art or life, is something that moves me emotionally and spiritually. And not necessarily pretty, but more so…something that causes me to FEEL.

    FAB post, my friend!

    X

    P.S. Fab photo!

  2. Beauty truly is in the eye of the beholder, isn’t it, Suzi? I think our idea of beauty changes over time, too. I mean, I see things as beautiful today that I didn’t think of as beautiful when I was a child — the gnarled hands of an old woman as she makes a cup of tea for a guest, the trusting look between long-married spouses, etc.
    Levenson’s quote is a good recipe for beauty!

    • My idea of beauty has certainly changed over the years. There’s a big difference between fake and natural beauty, but it took me years to realize substance is where beauty is. I love your examples of beauty.

  3. Beauty to me is seldon simply visual. Something or someone who brings me laughter, tears, joy or sorrow is generally something very beautiful to me. I gather men are more “visual” than women. A man who makes me laugh is always very attractive to me. A woman who makes me laugh is too.

  4. Beautifully put. It’s interesting that as I grow older, the “comforting to the soul” element of beauty becomes more and more important.

    Thanks for linking to The Spin Cycle!!

  5. I’m not sure it could be said any better. We’re all attracted to a pleasing visual. But it’s what we see/hear/taste/feel on a deeper level that determines whether what we see superficially is truly of any value. Wonderful post and reminder. I love the quote. xoxo

  6. I posted a while back how striking it can be to see how a person with perfect features and dress, but looking ill-tempered, is completely outshone by one of less striking looks but with an appearance of eager good humour.

Leave a Reply

