Portal To The Past

gateway

 

Have you ever felt you were whisked into a different dimension? Perhaps you seemed to step back into the past or entered new terrain of the future? Did it give you comfort or did you find yourself uneasy?

Sometimes it’s a feeling of déjà vu, that feeling like you’ve been there or done that. It’s an all knowing feeling without the memory. The feeling is hard to shake. It arouses the senses and sits you on edge. It’s as if you’re waiting for the rest of the scenario to unfold because you can’t remember what happens next, almost like watching a movie you’re sure you’ve starred in.

What about when a certain aroma startles something within you but you can’t put a finger on it? Sometimes those make you feel warm and cozy and other times send chills through you.  Those situations seem to arouse more emotions than others. I wonder why.

Do you have a déjà vu story to share?

31 thoughts on “Portal To The Past

  1. Nothing specific . . . but I’ve felt that sense of an overlap between the PRESENT and the PAST on many occasions.

    The same motion, conversation, and place. The ultimate “been there, done that” feeling. 😛

  2. I am a firm believer in deja vu. I’ve experienced it a few times in my life. The feeling is as you describe it, something that is bigger than the moment I am witnessing. It takes me a few days to shake that repeated, familiar sense that I’ve lived the exact same action or conversation.

  3. “Sometimes it’s a feeling of déjà vu, that feeling like you’ve been there or done that. It’s an all knowing feeling without the memory.”

    Yes, I’ve had that experience many, many times in my life, but never so strong as I did when I went to Kyoto, Japan and visited the sacred temples. It was the most intense and emotion experience I’ve ever had – like I KNEW the place and had lived there before. At one point I actually sat down on a bench and cried because it felt as though I had come home. The energy there felt so familiar to me.

    Awesome post topic, Suzi!

    And please tell Dirtman that his photo is BRILLIANT!

    Have a super weekend, my friend….X

  4. What a fabulous photo Dirt Man took — it evokes just the right feeling of hope and expectancy. That feeling of déjà vu can certainly be unnerving; and we’re never truly prepared for it, either!

  5. My wife had the best one of these moments, when at a formal dinner in an historic hotel. The whole place changed for an instant and became rather like a period picture with diners in old-fashioned dress, but some aspects of the room were different. She felt shaken, and we went home early. Later, particulars of the scene she was able to describe were found to be an accurate idea of what the room had been like before a number of alterations had been effected..

  6. The smell of cantaloupe will always bring me right back to my grandmas table in the summers. The way the sun shined in the kitchen door, my feet swinging back and forth and her placing a big bowl of the cut fruit on the table – such good memories!

  7. I felt that way in Ireland this past summer. I felt outside of “now”… with no idea “when” it was… seemed a bit like floating in a sense of an “expanse of times past.” It was a relaxed, content, completely comfortable, floating sensation that lasted for several days.

  8. Can’t say that I experience deja vu; however, 4 or 5 times a week, I have a strange feeling when I rest my head on my pillow to sleep. It’s as if we’re all in a bubble and God is looking in. It’s not happy nor sad, but just wondering what’s next and is this all “real.” I guess it’s my way of resigning for the day. I quickly fall asleep. 🙂

  9. Most of my déjà vu moments can also be considered the definition of insanity doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results! Yes…..it’s Monday…..

Leave a Reply

