There’s Gold in Them Thar Hills!

Happiness resides not in possessions, and not in gold, happiness dwells in the soul. ~Democritus 

Humpback Rock 075

Whether nuggets are found in those mountains or beauty is found in the golden leaves, the greater gold is the warmth found within the soul.

What are you desires for today? Are your longings complex or as simple as being here for this moment? Can you reach within and pull out a nugget to share? Most people don’t want all you have; they just want a bit of you.  It might be your time, your energy, your love, or simply your take on life. Whatever you have is of value to someone else…and that piece you share makes them feel valuable.

What does it mean to live a life fulfilled? Does it mean to die without regret or to live in peace? Chasing happiness is as elusive as digging for gold…there is just never enough to satisfy once it is tasted.  When happiness is allowed to find you right where you are living life, in the midst of awareness, of peace within, it is always enough.

May you find gold in the hills within your soul. May you always have enough. May you learn to share that “enough” with others. May your heart shine like gold and warm those around you. May you always be blessed and be a blessing to those you meet on the journey of life.

30 thoughts on “There’s Gold in Them Thar Hills!

  1. Oh, Susan, can you see how your trials have deepened the meaning of your life and the richness of your writing? God bless you that you will continue to make your challenges into sweet blessings.

  2. Sweet Suzicate, you touched my soul this morning with your words. We are moving to another state in 13 days. Yesterday was my last day with a group of 70, 80 and 90 years old women. Well, there is one other that is in her 60’s. It is heart wrenching to leave this group of women who have cheered me on as an officer in the larger group over the last 6 years. They were my mentors, confidants, road buddies and friends like so many my own age have not had the wisdom to be. They were mothers and older sisters to me. But I believe God has a new beginning for Husband am me in Round Rock. Your post holds the breath, the whisper of The Still, Quite Voice giving me reassurance. Blessings on you.

    • Thank you, Janice. I hope you find another group of lovely ladies in your new state…your role might even change with this “change” in your life. I wish you the best. Blessings to you.

  3. BRAVA, Suzi!

    *thunderous applause*

    You have shared SO MUCH insight within this post. So many rich nuggets of TRUE wealth!

    “Chasing happiness is as elusive as digging for gold…there is just never enough to satisfy once it is tasted. When happiness is allowed to find you right where you are living life, in the midst of awareness, of peace within, it is always enough.”

    AMEN!

    Happiness for me is not about seeking it. It’s about saying thank you for all the happiness, goodness and wealth, I already have.

    Thank you for sharing this, my friend!

    X ya!

    P.S. Faaaaaaaabulous photo!

  4. I’ve always heard that Happiness is like a butterfly. Chase it and it flies away, but if you’ll let it softly land on you, you can have it always. Your thoughts — like your photo — are beautiful!

  5. Hello! It’s good to be back as a visitor to your blog! I enjoyed your visit to mine.
    Your phrase, “Chasing happiness…” resonated with me, too. When I catch myself doing so, I stop and realize how blessed I already am.
    Beautiful photo and great inspirational post.

  6. SuziCate, not sure what would make me happy these day…truthfully its a battle of wills. I loved what you wrote:

    “What does it mean to live a life fulfilled? Does it mean to die without regret or to live in peace? Chasing happiness is as elusive as digging for gold…there is just never enough to satisfy once it is tasted. When happiness is allowed to find you right where you are living life, in the midst of awareness, of peace within, it is always enough.”

    May our happiness be enough- beautiful Ms. SuziCate , thank you ! Marisa

Leave a Reply

