There’s Something About Autumn

Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop off like autumn leaves. ~John Muir

Fall leaves 2012 185

There is something about autumn that does my soul good.

There is something about the change and uncertainty that gets my juices flowing.

There is something about the crisp tickle of wind against my neck that stirs my imagination.

There is something about the glorious mixture of scarlet, avocado mustard, and pumpkin that recharges my creativity.

There is something about the slice of sun filtering through the rustle of leaves that warms me from the inside out.

There is something about the rough edge and smooth body of an acorn that is so familiar to me.

There is something about the pine needles falling like tears that makes me reach within myself.

There is something about the birdsong that says I’ll make it through winter.

There is something about the sweetness of apples and pumpkins that take me home.

There is something about the woody, spicy scents of the woods that comfort me.

There is something about the other tall, stark trees that bravely stretch to the heavens.

Perhaps it is simple witness in the beauty of death and the hope of rebirth.

Spin Cycle: Autumn

28 thoughts on “There’s Something About Autumn

  1. Beeeeeeautifully expressed post, Suzi!

    And couldn’t agree with you more….

    “There is something about autumn that does my soul good.”

    Amen! And I don’t know whether it is because I was born in this month, but I feel so alive when autumn comes.

    Love how you said this…

    “There is something about the crisp tickle of wind against my neck that stirs my imagination.”

    I agree!!!!!

    Stunning photo, my friend!
    X

  2. How beautiful Suzicate! You’ve captured the quintessence of autumn in this sensual post proclaiming its magic. I love the season too so your words really resonated with me.

  3. Couldn’t agree more! I love sitting by the fire in a fire pit on those crisp Autumn afternoons/evenings. Your words are so beautiful and capture the essence of the season perfectly.

  4. Wonderful images, Suzi. Fall is not my favorite time of year . . . but I love the colors especially when we make it up to Vermont to watch the leaves losing their green.

    • I was there in autumn once and it was lovely. I was especially surprised by the hues of green and the cotton wood trees (we don’t have those here). I also loved the scent of wild sage sifting through the desert air.

  5. Beautiful, as always! And so true. It’s my favorite time of year too, but I’m not nearly as poignantly introspective as you, and have never really analyzed why. I love the idea that it has to do with the “witness in the beauty of death and the hope of rebirth”. Thanks for linking up! You were missed!

  6. You know I love fall. I also love knowing that fall has lifted you up in your time of mourning. I am so glad you have been held in the arms of autumn, and remembered that life is still good, and there is happiness to be found in this beautiful world. Thinking of you with loving thoughts this morning…

  7. Stunning photo! I like fall, too- for many of the reasons you listed. Then again, there’s something to like in most seasons (except summer….25 hot, cranky summers in Phoenix kind of ruined that season for me :))

Leave a Reply

