Daze Of The Journey

The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing. One cannot help but be in awe when he contemplates the mysteries of eternity, of life, of the marvelous structure of reality. It is enough if one tries merely to comprehend a little of this mystery every day. Never lose a holy curiosity. ~Albert Einstein

IMG_4712

We are each on a journey. Whether you walk, stroll, tiptoe, or run, every step involves the practice of awareness. We generally know where we are and what we are doing. We know how we feel about the situation at hand even if it’s contradictory to appearances.

Our actions and reactions to what we see, hear, think, and feel paint a portrait. When we reflect upon these behaviors our physical journey becomes a spiritual one. In a sense, we are journaling the journey even if we are not physically writing it on paper. We are living and learning every step of the way.

We are wildflowers in the woods. While rooted to the ground, we stretch to the sun and sway with the wind. We can exercise our freedom and question our belief system without compromising self. It is from the questioning in which we discover self and solidify our relationship with spirit.

Do you ever question whether you have chosen the path you are walking or whether the path has chosen you? You are both a contributor to all you meet along your way as well as a receiver.

The answers we seek are within us. We must learn to trust ourselves.

Pay attention. Look and listen. Not just to others, but to your heart and soul. Every step, every consideration, is one step closer to self.

Do you journal? Do you write about your days or your daze? Do you prefer to do your reflection in thought or ink?

15 thoughts on “Daze Of The Journey

  1. My biggest brightest and best insights have NOT come during serious reflection time. Instead they sneak up on me when least expected, tap me on the shoulder, and say LISTEN UP! πŸ˜€

    As for the path, I don’t know that we can map it out in advance. Instead we choose it step by step as it unfolds before us.

    • I don’t think we can map out the path either. I think things happen as supposed to and our choices determine the bends in the road. My biggest insights have probably not happened during reflection time but have caused me to reflect the situation and evaluate future decisions.

  2. oooh…. I knew the ideas in your post went “in” after I read them earlier…BUT (!!) I didn’t realize how far…. what a surprise! When I just saw your “like” on “don’t fence me in….”…it connected! …that’s where some of the inspiration that woke up the remembering of that song and creating the post came from…from “this here” post…. my very own path of “daze”… πŸ˜€ oh, such a sense of curiosity and wonder!

  3. ” In a sense, we are journaling the journey even if we are not physically writing it on paper. We are living and learning every step of the way.”

    Suzi, I love that because you are so right. We are journaling the journey even if we are not physically writing it on paper. Insightful observation, my friend! And I never thought of it that way, but that’s how I journal – I do it by reflecting on my thoughts and feelings.

    And as far as the path goes, I allow “it” to chose for me.

    Thanks for sharing this today! Love the photo too!

    X

    • I’m so glad somebody gets what I’m saying! Seriously, I journal all the time in my head while little of that goes on paper. When I do journal it is not about where I went or what I did it’s about what I’m thinking about life in general. Maybe, I’m just weird like that!

  4. I don’t journal. I used to keep a diary, but that fell by the wayside some time around junior high. Lovely thoughts on reflection, though, and I so enjoy your photos!

  5. “How do I know what I think until I read what I say?” E. M. Forster said that, and I second that! Sometimes I don’t realize what my “theme” is until I re-read what I’ve just written. The big idea finally starts to come together after I’ve been writing. My ah-ha moments come while writing. Thanks for writing…and posting those beautiful nature photographs.

  6. I don’t journal…there’s just something about my innermost thoughts being outside my head for others to see that makes me avoid it. I prefer to express emotions in fiction. I do think it’s healthy to examine our thoughts and heart on a regular basis.

  7. I love the quotes you find! They’re absolutely marvelous. And combined with your commentary, they are the highlight of my day….except when I’m overwhelmed and then reading four days worth in one sitting! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

