On Top Of The World In The Center Of The Universe

If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hearts. ~Henry David Thoreau

IMG_4740

Have you ever experienced a place of wholeness in life? Perhaps you’ve reached within and felt peace. Maybe you’ve stumbled across a spot in the woods where you were connected in spirit. These places whether physical or internal give us a sense of self and connection at the same time. They provide peace and truth. These sacred places humble us to the power of life, and yet complete us even if only for the time being. What a sensation, this belonging to oneself and the universe.

IMG_4745

I’ve found this time and space within myself on occasion, but there are some places in the midst of nature that invoke this for me. My two favorites are a particular riverside property, and the other atop a mountain we often hike. This weekend I was blessed to visit both.

IMG_4747

Saturday night we cooked out and enjoyed the company of family on the river. On Sunday we accompanied my husband’s cousins and their eighty year old father on a hike to Spy Rock. What an honor it was to be a part of this special trip. His uncle walks with a cane and it is not a simple trail. It required a group effort of all parties to accomplish this.

IMG_4750

When we reached the rock top of the mountain, we each took in the majestic view of the many mountains surrounded by clouds.  Fog traveled through the ridges and settled over the peaks. I scanned the faces of those around me. The contentment on their faces was exactly what I felt in my heart. The expression of satisfaction across the uncle’s face is one I will carry with me. It reminds me accomplishment is what we make of it. The only mountains we need climb are the ones of our choosing.

IMG_4755

Always remember, my friends, you don’t have to save the world, only yourself. And somehow in doing that, you become a vital unit in doing the other.

IMG_4757

Have you found the sanctuary within yourself? Do you have a physical sanctuary (not speaking of churches or synagogues here)? Is there a place or a time of the day when you have a definite sense of connection? Where is your place of truth?

IMG_4779

22 thoughts on “On Top Of The World In The Center Of The Universe

  1. Simply beautiful photography! The mountains surrounding Las Vegas Valley seem to transport my mind when we drive into them and stop to walk around. The geology, the power of these mountains humble me.

    • Yes, the mountains out west are truly humbling. The energy there is amazing…I admit I was a bit overwhelmed in their presence. However, my trip to Nevada, Utah, and Arizona was amazing, and I can hardly wait to go again.

  2. Faaaaaaabulous post, Suzi! Both your words and photos!

    And stunning photos, btw! The view in the 4th one down is MAGNIFICENT!

    “you don’t have to save the world, only yourself. And somehow in doing that, you become a vital unit in doing the other.”

    Amen!

    For me, find sanctuary at the close of the day – around dusk. I will sometimes take my camera and walk around the city as night falls; taking in the sites and energy. I find that time of the day both peaceful and creatively inspiring.

    “Have you ever experienced a place of wholeness in life? ”

    Yes, I find it in two places. I find that in NYC (in the midst of all the massive energy that’s there). And I also find that in the mountains (in the midst of quiet solitude.) It’s odd because feel wholeness is both environments.

    X

    • It’s majestic! Wow, that’s amazing you find that in NYC, but I can only imagine how that energy feels. That’s wonderful that you can feel that way in two almost opposite settings.

  3. “Maybe you’ve stumbled across a spot in the woods where you were connected in spirit.” … Yes. That is where I built my home. Being able to live in that spot, being there daily has sometimes made me forget how rare that is … and how others must search for their spot and only visit it occasionally. I am very lucky and privileged to be able to live here. “The only mountains we need climb are the ones of our choosing.” … sometimes I need a kick to not just settle in the ease and pleasant of this place and choose a new mountain … we need challenges, they add value to the peaceful place we have found.

    • How unbelievably fabulous that you built on your site! How lucky are those who can do that! We do need challenges in life, but it sure is nice to have that kind of place to call home.

  4. I guess I would say my time of day is in the morning, although I am usually a flurry of activity – it’s the only time I am by myself (my husband is still sleeping) and maybe I should just sit outside with a cup of coffee and not do anything for a few minutes!

  5. I tend to be a morning person and love to be up and about before everybody else. My sanctuary seems to change, though most often, I find my peace beside water — whether a lake or the beach. I so love your photos and just know Dirt Man’s uncle found your trip exhilarating!

  6. Beautiful comforting message to start the day Suzi. Today is my birthday….a day in which I want to commit to some goals that nourish my soul and my creativity. You are always an inspiration to me along that path. Thank you.

  7. These photos are just beautiful. As are the words.
    I thought of you as we drove to pick Edie up from camp Saturday – I’d love to go out there with you and have you show me how to capture the beauty near her camp. One of these days!

  8. The connection between place and peace is meditatitve. Just by being there, you can sense calm. That has happened to me a couple of times in my life, where the landscape touches me enough that I am content, quiet, and peaceful for that one moment.

    Beautiful photos as always, Suzicate.

  9. It’s hard to top these scenes! I feel this way when I see a sunset over the ocean. For me, the peace and contentment cannot be surpassed there.

  10. Q: Have you found the sanctuary within yourself?
    A: Yes, sometimes just thinking quietly. Or doing some chore with just my thoughts.
    Q: Do you have a physical sanctuary (not speaking of churches or synagogues here)?
    A: Yes, again it can be when I am doing something somewhat mindless, where I am free to think and reflect.
    Q: Is there a place or a time of the day when you have a definite sense of connection? Where is your place of truth?
    A: Yes, in addition to being able to think and reflect while doing a “mindless” chore there is also the dance floor (wherever that may be). If I am practice a routine I connect to self and music. When I am teaching a class I connect to my Nia community, the Nia routine, the Nia music, and to self. When I can release the “stuff” and dance and teach in the moment it is a fabulous connection!

Leave a Reply

