Bodie Island Lighthouse

I’ve talked about how DirtMan and I enjoy stargazing. We arrived at Bodie Island Lighthouse right at dusk. We took several photos and headed to the sound for photos of the sunset.

We came back late so DirtMan could get some Milky Way shots over the lighthouse. We had the place to ourselves. We took our lawn chairs and stretched out beneath the stars. It was just the two of us beneath this amazing twinkling canopy of sky. After our eyes adjusted we didn’t need lights…the stars lit our path through the darkness. In the woods beyond us we could hear whippoorwills calling, red fox yipping, bull frogs bellowing, and katydids singing…entertained by nature’s orchestra and heaven’s light show.

This is DirtMan's shot and explanation: This is a 35 minute timelapse shot of Bodie Island lighthouse (taken from 10:35 to 11:10 PM on 7/7/13). The 11mm lens distorts the image, but it adds an eerie vertigo effect. I set the top of the lighthouse on the North Star (Polaris).

This is DirtMan’s shot and explanation: This is a 35 minute timelapse shot of Bodie Island lighthouse (taken from 10:35 to 11:10 PM on 7/7/13). The 11mm lens distorts the image, but it adds an eerie vertigo effect. I set the top of the lighthouse on the North Star (Polaris).

IMG_4237

IMG_4238

IMG_4239

IMG_4241

IMG_4243

36 thoughts on “Bodie Island Lighthouse

    • He’s been experimenting with night sky photography (stars and lightening). He’s come up with some gorgeous and interesting photos. It’s a lot of work and technical stuff I don’t understand involved, but I love what he achieves. He usually posts most of them to his Facebook page, and his photos are public.

  1. I think you should enlarge that photo, frame it and hang it in your home.
    Suzi … you left out how romantic that evening was! It was, wasn’t it?
    Sounds perfect … no mosquitoes, right? 😉

    • That is one of several of his photos I’d like to enlarge and frame, but he reminds me that if we do we must dispose of many current wall hangings! Romantic? Honestly, not so much romantic as comforting and soul affirming…felt as if things were exactly as meant to be as well as our place in the world at that time.

  2. What a perfect night! If it wasn’t rainy the whole time I was in Virginia, the star lit sky is amazing on Smith Mountain Lake – I love laying on the grass and looking at the stars!

    That’s an awesome photo DirtMan! 😀

  3. Wow, Dirt Man’s photo should be entered in some type of contest — my guess is, he’d win. It’s just breath-taking! Thanks for sharing your lighthouse photos from your vacation. I never tire of seeing lighthouses, though inland, we don’t have too many!

  4. Suzi…the time lapse photo is MAGICAL! Just took my breath away….and from your evocative description I could imagine being there experiencing what you did. You are VERY fortunate you and your hubby share this interest in nature and photography. Thanks for providing an inspirational start to my day!

  5. Tell Dirtman I think that first shot is awesome. It makes me think I need to do a LOT of reading and learning about photography.
    I’m enjoying your series on lighthouses very much. It makes me think I want to do a lighthouse tour of this country.

Leave a Reply

