Cape Hatteras Lighthouse

IMG_4136

 

DirtMan and I have a thing for lighthouses. We visit all within our vicinity. This vacation we went to three, two of which we’d been to years ago. This one is Cape Hatteras. The last visit was before its relocation. It was an extremely monumental and interesting process which you can read about here.

IMG_4163

 

This photo was taken from the base of the old location with the lighthouse in its current location in view. Notice the foundation stones with the names of the lightkeepers.

This photo was taken from the base of the old location with the lighthouse in its current location in view. Notice the foundation stones with the names of the lightkeepers.

IMG_4157

IMG_4138Photos of Bodie and Currituck lighthouses to follow later…

I’m still struggling to catch up with house and yard work, blogs, and writing projects. There just never seems to be enough free time in a day!

18 thoughts on “Cape Hatteras Lighthouse

    • Yes, I was amazed when I watched the video about it at the lighthouse. Funny though that I don’t even remember them moving it…usually I am up on those things, guess I just forgot.

  1. I love that last shot! Beautiful. We visited the lighthouse in St. Augustine Florida a few years ago and walked every. single. step. to the top. The history behind them is always so fascinating.

  2. Our first visit to that lighthouse was not long after it had been moved and you could still see the path left. Somewhere I think I have pictures of it – along with a wee Edie at the base of the lighthouse.
    Somehow all the relaxation of a vacation goes out the window when you come back and have to deal with life again. Perhaps this is why we haven’t taken a full week off in years?

    • That sounds like a really cool shot.
      Perhaps I’ll consider a staycation next year. The downfall is when we do those we paint the house or do some type of major renovations.

  3. I haven’t been to the lighthouse since it was moved, but I still have memories of running up from the chilly, windy beach (we were always there in March), and stepping onto those old stones. Can you still climb to the top?

  4. I’ve heard the words “Cape Hatteras” mentioned often, particularly on The Weather Channel, particularly during hurricane season. Glad to see the lighthouse was moved to preserve its beauty for the ages!

  5. The reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated.
    Mark Twain
    When I got walk the steps to the top it was truly amazing.

Leave a Reply

