A Coastal Vacation

Vacation was fabulous! We are home and trying to catch back up on all we missed. Here are a few highlights from our week. I’ll follow up with individual posts later.

We visited three light houses. This one is Cape Hatteras.

We visited three light houses. This one is Cape Hatteras.

We had lots of beach time, but we WORE out swimsuits!

We had lots of beach time, but we WORE our swimsuits!

We watched others have fun in the sun.

We watched others have fun in the sun.

We took lots of photographs.

We took lots of photographs.

We enjoyed some gorgeous sunsets.

We enjoyed some gorgeous sunsets.

We even rose early enough on my birthday to watch the sunrise.

We even rose early enough on my birthday to watch the sunrise.

We weathered a few coastal storms.

We weathered a few coastal storms.

We mingled with the locals.

We mingled with the locals.

We stalked wild horses.

We stalked wild horses.

We discovered wine trees. Do they grow where you live?

We discovered wine trees. Do they grow where you live?

We found our totem...and to think we didn't even know there was a sunglass totem!

We found our totem…and to think we didn’t even know there was a sunglass totem!

We canoed Alligator River.

We canoed Alligator River.

We experienced the beauty of life.

We experienced the beauty of life.

We left refreshed...

We left refreshed…

38 thoughts on “A Coastal Vacation

  1. My fave was the sunglasses totem. I bet there were a few other unusual totems that you didn’t discover. Maybe they’ll be waiting for your next vacation. The whole experience looked wonderful; I felt refreshed after just looking at the pictures. Welcome back, Suzi – glad you’re home! 😀

  2. Oh my goodness Suzie! These photos are marvelous! I’m not sure I can pick a favorite. I LOLed at the second one, wondering what happened to the owner of that swim suit. :-O The wine tree is SUCH a good idea. I think I might plant one soon. Looks like you had an awesome vacay and birthday. Looking forward to what you pair with the photos for individual posts. 🙂

  3. I haven’t been to the Outer Banks in 15 years – I need to fix that! We always used to rent a huge house – the ones that had like 7 bedrooms and have huge get togethers – it was nice to have your own space but then eat and cook together.

    So glad you had an awesome time – and it wouldn’t be right not to see a couple storms – I love seeing storms on the water!

  4. Ah, so you were on Hatteras — and Ocracoke? I love your pictures – they make me homesick. Just a couple weeks behind you, and heading a little farther south. Thanks!

    • We didn’t get to Ocracoke this year, decided to check out Corova instead. We stayed in Nags Head but went to Corova, Hatteras, Wancheese, and Manteo exploring. Have fun on your vacation!

  5. Seems to have been marvellous. Unless you drank all the contents of those bottles before making them into a tree, of course! That would have been a hangover to remember …

    • WE were so fortunate to be close enough to see three on one vacation. We almost went to Ocracoke Island to see another one but decided on a beach day instead. We’d already seen that one before as well. Currituck was the only one we’d not visited…that’s tomorrow’s post.

  6. Love seeing photos of your vacation highlights! Saw a “bottle” tree in St.Kitts once which I am sure left MAJOR hangovers the next day! The lake with the perfect reflection caught my eye, and I was glad I didn’t see any alligators lurking around. Welcome back.

  7. What a pretty place to celebrate one’s birthday — I just know it was a happy one! Yes, I’ve seen wine trees but never a sunglasses totem. Interesting, the things people come up with, huh?!

Leave a Reply

