Climbing Over The Rock

Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful. ~ Joshua J. Marine

IMG_0556

Have you ever tried something new or started a project just to have someone tell you it’s beyond your abilities?  Thanks for the confidence buddy! Do those words make you want to give up or do it in spike of them?

Have you ever become overwhelmed in the midst of an endeavor and told yourself you couldn’t complete it? Your family and friends assure you that you can, but still you feel defeated…ever happened to you? Where does this mindset originate?

I’ve been in both situations. Often I’ve considered a door closed, not realizing I had the power to open it.

I’ve found it’s not how well I do something that defines me but my courage to attempt it in the first place. My attitude and perseverance (or lack thereof) tell my tale.

Both of my children have always taken things (computers, telephones etc…) apart since they were small. Of course, we were not always thrilled by their curiosity nor did we always appreciate their efforts in restoring those items.  They also had a tendency to create/invent new things by combining pieces of other things.

My oldest son recently purchased an older motorcycle with plans to restore it. He doesn’t have any mechanical training. The hubby was wary of his plan but proud of his effort and figured it would give him a challenge. The bike was not in working order. Various unassembled parts came with the bike. Oldest had it running in a day. He’s been working on it for a couple of weeks. If he hits a snag he searches the internet for answers. It has been a learning experience for him.

I love that my sons don’t allow other people’s opinion decide their course of action. They get it from their father. (Perhaps it’s stubbornness, but it’s a good thing!) I wish I was more like that.

I want to believe in my talents. I want courage to continue the things I start. I want to make a positive difference. I’m taking the scenic route which I call my gestation period…hopefully someday I’ll birth a worthwhile project.

When you approach the huge boulder in your path, realize it’s a just a rock. You can kick it out of your way. If it’s too large, climb over it and continue the journey. Remember that anything unattempted remains impossible.

33 thoughts on “Climbing Over The Rock

  1. “Have you ever tried something new or started a project just to have someone tell you it’s beyond your abilities? ”

    Yes, which is why I usually don’t share something (like a project) I wish to embark on with other people, because of the reason you just stated. I have a tendency to keep it quiet because in as much as some people wish to help, by giving their advice, I find that it only confuses me.

    ” If he hits a snag he searches the internet for answers. It has been a learning experience for him.”

    That’s me too. I learn best through error and then investigation.

    Great post, Suzi! I also loved the quote and photo!

    Have a faaaaaaabulous weekend, my friend!
    X

  2. I’d love to kick a few things outta my way today! The day has been full of challenges. I do agree with your quote….and overcoming them is definitely reason for celebration…and chocolate…and wine. Hope you have a wonderful weekend. xoxo

  3. Good thoughts to live by.

    That’s so cool that your boys take things apart and put them together. I always wanted my kids to do that, and even saved small broken appliances for them to fool with, but they never did. They were always more inclined to glue things together into sculptures. The difference between an engineer and an artist, I suppose.

    You’re probably the artist.

    • My hubby is the engineer and I’m the artist! However, he’s artsier than he admits and our sons have son of that in them as well. I guess it’s a matter of doing what rocks your boat!

  4. Love Love Love your last sentence, Suzi! How thrilling it must be to tackle a project about which you know nothing, and do it successfully. Kind of like creating, isn’t it?!

  5. You should be proud of your son, motivated curiosity, as opposed to the idle sort, is one of the most important traits that too many people lack. Plus, bonus, and I’m speaking from experience here, knowing your way around mechanics is not only fun, but one of the best money-saving skills a person can develop.

    • I am. He’s the type who learns by doing, not being told how to do it. My husband taught them basic mechanics, and whenever there is an auto problem they will tackle it together. The bike thing is something new. The hubby has thrown his hand in now and then with it as well. He’s now moved on to purchase another bike…

  6. You have already “birthed a worthwhile project” in your many wonderful, wise writings. This is a huge accomplishment which you continue to nurture and grow. Be patient with the gestational period. Everything in nature has a season.

  7. Yes, yes, yes! I am currently working on something – a few things actually – that everyone around me says I can do – but that little voice inside my head says otherwise. I’m trying to kick it to the curb so that I can climb over that boulder.

  8. Suzicate,
    In the words of one of the characters from my humans novels, “Most folks I know that get called genius are ones that were too stupid to listen to folks who told them they couldn’t be one.”

    • “Most folks I know that get called genius are ones that were too stupid to listen to folks who told them they couldn’t be one.” -they truly are the wise ones!

  9. It is a sense of accomplishment to tackle something that no one though you could do, but it can be hard to overcome the discouragement to even begin. Glad your son was able to expand his mechanical knowledge (proving doubters wrong is just icing on the cake :))

Leave a Reply

