Finding My Way Home

I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in. ~George Washington Carver

river cairn by Dirt Man

 

“Every day is a journey, and the journey itself is home.” — Matsuo Basho

 

IMG_4020

 

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” — Henry David Thoreau

 

IMG_3982

 

Come out of the azure. Love the day. Do not leave the sky out of your landscape. –Ralph Waldo Emerson, The Conduct of Life

 

IMG_4009

 

This river will teach you everything you need to learn. The water follows and trusts the current. It doesn’t try to direct itself but allows itself to be pulled easily and naturally to the ocean. The current knows where its going. That’s why its the current. The twigs bob merrily along the surface and trhe fish trust everything the current brings. The water is called by what is greater, the ocean, where the current both begins and ends. And this is how we are led when we trust our source and allow that source to lead us along to the fullest, happiest expression of life. ~James F. Twyman

 

IMG_3178

 

Each stone, each bend cries welcome to him. He identifies with the mountains and the streams, he sees something of his own soul in the plants and the animals and the birds of the field. ~Paulo Coelho

 

Montebello wildflowers 099

 

“Nature always wears the colors of the spirit.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson

The Spin Cycle: The Great Outdoors

22 thoughts on “Finding My Way Home

  1. Suzi, I so enjoy these posts, when you share your photos of nature and then weave quotes and thoughts between them. Just lovely!

    And being someone who lives in a city, I know the importance of getting out and mingling within nature (either in a city park or taking a day trip out to the burbs for the day), because it truly balances me. I actually feel healed.

    “I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in. ~George Washington Carver”

    LOVED that! And it’s so true!

    Gorgeous photos. That first one really touched me.

    Thank you, my friend….X

  2. I think you have found your way. I think you are as rooted as the trees, I think you go with your current, I think you soar over the mountains amongst the clouds.

  3. These are just beautiful! I especially love the following: “And this is how we are led when we trust our source and allow that source to lead us along to the fullest, happiest expression of life.” ~James F. Twyman

  4. I am always blown away by the beauty of your world! I can’t decide if you simply live in a particularly beautiful place, or if it just seems that way because of the beautiful way you capture it with your camera! I should get you to come to gritty LA and see if you can make it seem beautiful with your camera!

    You are linked!

    • I do live in beautiful territory! Not sure what I could do with LA. However, my photographer friends lives there (actually Ojai) and she does a great job with the scenery in both places!

  5. I used that first quote earlier this week for Quotography! Isn’t it great?! And like Gretchen, I’m always taken aback by the beauty of where you live. Stunning.

    • Our friend and expert dam builder stacked this cairn! Well, we found it on the river property and assume he did because no one else can build a dam or a cairn quite like him!

Leave a Reply

