Where The Sun Doesn’t Shine

IMG_3243

 

See the snow on the side of that hill? The sun was blazing all around, filtering through the trees, dancing across the road, and yet the curvature of that hill enclosed that one spot so the sun couldn’t reach it. Have you ever done that in life? You know, been so stuck on your own opinion you couldn’t hear someone’s explanation or call for help? Have you ever been so annoyed or puzzled you continued to analyze the situation rather than softening your heart and opening yourself to allow love to lead you?

The need to be understood and the desire to understand often conflict with these preconceived ideas we have about life. It’s difficult to see other points of view when we are so deeply rooted by opinion. We claim people should have better morals,use common sense, or at least learn from past mistakes. We forget we are human. We all make mistakes. We just tend to make them in different areas of life. We come from various walks of life. We hold different beliefs. We are faced with problems others are not. Β Our priorities and resources are not the same. Whether our mistakes are big or small, legit or not, we need to remember we are not here to judge but to love.

Don’t think I’m preaching to you here because I’m not, I’m reminding myself. When I see people doing the very same things that got them in Β problematic situations, I feel frustrated…This is a reminder to myself to allow the sun to move in and melt the snow.

34 thoughts on “Where The Sun Doesn’t Shine

  1. I love your writing, and I don’t nearly tell you enough. πŸ˜€ My favorite line was the last!!

    “This is a reminder to myself to allow the sun to move in and melt the snow.”

    Enjoy your weekend! πŸ˜€

  2. Do you love my new avatar (if that’s what its called or spelled)? I realized the one I had been using? I was 37 years old – ha – I’m 45 now!

    • You’re a trip, Biz!Love your avatar…actually I think it’s called a gravatar, but then again what do I know! Ha, but your attached profile says you’re thirty-seven! I think we should all boycott aging and say we’re twenty-nine!

  3. Such good advice! The old adage “think before you speak” seems to have been lost to our “freedom” to comment. Listening more with genuine openness would solve a whole lot of the world’s conflicts.

  4. We have one of those “rooted in our own opinion” things going on here and I can’t quite decide which of us is the one being stubborn. Could be both.

  5. Apt observations, Suzi! Yes, we all tend to dig into our opinions and refuse to hear something contradictory — perhaps that’s how we reinforce our stances?? At any rate, it would do us well to remember we’re not to judge but to love!

  6. It really is weird that we can’t see other points of view a lot of the time because we are so entrenched in our own beliefs. I’m afraid I’m guilty of that as much as anyone. (But at least I recognize it in myself!)

  7. “Have you ever been so annoyed or puzzled you continued to analyze the situation rather than softening your heart and opening yourself to allow love to lead you?”

    Yes! I’ve done that many, many, many times myself. So this post was an EXCELLENT reminder for me, Suzi!

    ” Our priorities and resources are not the same. Whether our mistakes are big or small, legit or not, we need to remember we are not here to judge but to love.”

    Thank you! And you’re sooooooooooo right, my friend!

    Have a super weekend!

    X

    P.S that photo is AWESOME!!!

    • Thanks, Ron. This was taken of what was once upon a time the Maxwell House property. It has gone through several transfers but I think is now owned by JMU. The rows of trees below (looks like tiny dots) is a tree farm.

  8. You are just plain wonderful, Suzi. I could tell this post came straight from your heart, and I knew you weren’t preaching, cuz it didn’t feel like preaching, it felt loving. I have times when I am blind-sided and wonder where that person’s anger came from. Sometime later I figure out that I hadn’t let the sun shine in. I’m never intentionally mean, but you know the saying about good intentions. Right now I just feel like crying my heart out…I wonder if that will wash away the snow. Thank you for the comfort you unconsciously but consistently give to others. Just remember to give some to yourself. *hug*

  9. Very thoughtful…full of thought. This was a nice meditation to start my day. It’s easy to let “frost build up,” too. I have to be careful of that as much as allowing the snow to melt.

  10. I get caught in that struggle too. I step back and catch myself making a judgment and then quickly realize I don’t know that person’s truth. I am not walking in their shoes. And I keep reminding myself of that, over and over again. Great reminder, Susan.

  11. I love your writing too (just like biz319 said). I also love that you post reminders to yourself. I found myself using my blog the same way. I have really liked using it as my recipe book — even though it is not a food blog. Amazing how that snow is not melted. πŸ™‚

  12. Love the picture of the unmelted snow- and how you tied this in to characteristics of ourselves. Of course, it’s easier to see the errors in others’ ways than in our own πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

