From Gloom To Gleam

Personality is the glitter that sends your little gleam across the footlights and the orchestra pit into that big black space where the audience is. ~Mae West

First Landing 004

Most of us guard our less desirable traits and concentrate on the qualities other people admire. It is in accepting our shadows that we invite the sun. We must learn who we are to find where we’re going.

Like the swamp I also have my desolate times. These are the days of winter when darkness lingers and the cold winds chill my soul. Eventually spring arrives. Life bursts forth. Shadows flicker as the sun filters in, but the atmosphere continues to warm.

When I reflect upon the waters the images I see are of growth and inner beauty, all of which would not have been possible had I not confronted my shadows. The shadows and I have become friends. I trust in the lessons they provide, and I have faith I will use them to bear fruit.

The swamp, nor I, will live in bondage. In the season we emerge we become poetry. We bite into life with passion. We feel the burning of the sun and the ache as new growth takes root. We taste the salty tears dropped upon us and drink them heartily, thirsting for more. We see the colors of life exploding beneath the acrid leaves left from previous lives. We smell the sweet, spicy fragrance of life as it catches the tail of the wind and soars all around us. We hear the voice within prodding us to embrace the uncertainty change and chance offers each moment of the day.

As the swamp lives its truth and dazzles in its glitter, I shall wear my personality like a scarf holding the hairs of my soul in place. I, too, shall shine in my own way.

21 thoughts on “From Gloom To Gleam

  1. “The shadows and I have become friends. I trust in the lessons they provide, and I have faith I will use them to bear fruit.”

    Amen! It wasn’t until I started to embrace my shadow side, rather than try to rid myself of it, did I truly begin to see my light.

    Love the quote from Mae West. Faaaaabulous!

    “I shall wear my personality like a scarf holding the hairs of my soul in place. I, too, shall shine in my own way.”

    You GO, girl!

    Have a terrific Tuesday, Suzi!

    X

  2. Lovely quote from Mae West. I personally don’t like the desolate times much; I tend to prefer the sunny days. Still, I know we all must go through difficulties and rather than fighting them, we should use them as opportunities for learning.

  3. Beautifully written and true. While I don’t like the desolate times and I try not to let myself dwell in them, going through them makes me appreciate the light even more than I would have had I not walked in the darkness. Emerging from the desolate times does have a way of sparking creativity – that I like, too!

Leave a Reply

