Wind and Wings

Mother's Day weekend 2012 045

 

Some of us are the wind. We blow the air that creates beautiful music or perhaps we are the breath of life the kite rises against and soars in response.

Others are kites or wind chimes. They gracefully twist and turn in the breeze, a delight to the eye. Or perhaps the melody they radiate soothes the souls of others. Their beauty and talent seems effortless.  How often do we realize those kites and chimes don’t function on their own? They are flawlessly designed to do what is intended.  Guides and stabilizers assist them.

When we breezy types don’t feel appreciated for our efforts we long to be carefree like we assume the kites or wind chimes to be. Do the kites and wind chimes get tired of the attention? Maybe they’d like a respite from the role in which they feel no escape.

If you think about it most of us are a mixture of all. We blow warm and cool. There are days we are a welcomed breeze and times we are a gust too much. Other times we are the ones being watched as we provide the entertainment and joy.

Though we are each works in progress, we are flawlessly designed. It takes time, effort, and practice to get where we are going whether it’s sailing the sky, assisting from the ground, or quietly blending into the background. We are created for a purpose whether we are aware or not. When we do what we feel we need to do, whether for ourselves or others, it makes all the difference in the world.

Whether you are the wings, the wind beneath them, or both know you are beautiful and loved. Breathe. Soar in your own way. Be you.

This is one of those two am insomniac thoughts that sounded profound until it hit the light of day and the keyboard…I think it lost much in translation, but still felt the need to share.

30 thoughts on “Wind and Wings

  1. I love wind chimes, Suzi, and this one looks like it would have a beautiful sound! Maybe you’re trying to say what Ecclesiastics says, “There’s a time and purpose for everything under Heaven..”?? Sometimes we do the blowing; other times, we do the singing and dancing. Whatever we do, we’re called to do it to the best of our ability.

    • It plays Johannes Brahms’ Symphony #1. My other one plays notes from an aria from La Forza del Destino (the Force of Destiny) by Giuseppe Verdi. I quite enjoy them both.

  2. I laughed out loud at your last paragraph . . . because the same thing has happened to me on occasion:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/11/18/dragons-in-the-kitchen/

    When we dream, we are far more intuitive than in “real life” . . . allowing us “to gather the gossamer of the dream into a unified whole.” And then we wake up. *POP*

    That said, I like your overall analogy. We are interconnected . . . kites can’t fly and wind chimes remain silent unless a breeze supports their endeavors.

    • I stayed awake for over two hours and constructed a post in my head…obviously, it wasn’t this post, but my notepad gave me the words wind, kite, wind chime to go with. I wrote another post in my head, too, but I only have one word to go by on that one…I do remember one sentence, lol!

  3. Pingback: Dragons In The Kitchen | Spirit Lights The Way

  4. “If you think about it most of us are a mixture of all. We blow warm and cool. There are days we are a welcomed breeze and times we are a gust too much. Other times we are the ones being watched as we provide the entertainment and joy.”

    You are sooooo right, Suzi. We are mixture of both – both teacher and learner.

    Loved your analogy in this post. You are so observant to things.

    “This is one of those two am insomniac thoughts that sounded profound until it hit the light of day and the keyboard…I think it lost much in translation, but still felt the need to share.”

    And I’m so glad you DID share it. Thank you, my friend!

    X

    P.S. great post photo. it’s perfect!

    • They are tuned to the notes of the music…not exact song but you can tell. Beautiful none the less, notes aren’t as random as the other chimes I’ve had though I’ve enjoyed those just as well.

      • I think it is just tuned to the pitches. Some times the notes are clearer than other times…perhaps the average ear doesn’t hear the notes. I ordered them because of the notes and then listened to the music before messing with the chimes. I can detect the notes, but only because I know it’s there. The difference is they sound more musical rather than just clangy like most chimes, though those are nice, too. Originally I was going to order the ones that played the notes of Amazing Grace. Just want to be clear it’s no the actually song in order, but clear musical notes, that truly don’t sound random though they would have to be since they depend on the wind, lol!

  5. I’m glad you shared this. I like the general idea – in life some people are in the spotlight and others in the background. It doesn’t mean that one is more important than the other. Those of us in the background sometimes forget that 🙂

  6. Insomniac thoughts? Are you kidding? This is brilliant. But, for me, many times you’re the wind chime. And I know people whose sole purpose in life is to be a tornado, so maybe some people are not designed flawlessly! 🙂

  7. I’m with Nancy. I can relate. Totally. Although often I get the ideas as I’m driving in the car, and unless I decide to pull over and jot them down somewhere, they usually have flown the coop by the time I get to my computer. I think you did have a profound thought, and I can see the elements of it in your post. Don’t be too critical of yourself. Every reader brings their own interpretation to the writing.

Leave a Reply

