Everyone Wants To Be The Cool Kid!

Best and Worst

Best: The weather is nice enough to play outside. We have a huge yard with lots of room to run

Worst: The kids prefer to run on the cobble stone patio.

Best: I have a slide and tunnel to entertain them.

Worst: They pull pine needles, grass, stones, sticks, and anything their little hands can reach through the chain fence from the neighbor’s yard and toss into mine.

Best: I bought them eight balls, two each of four colors to insure no fighting amongst them.

Worst: Each child wants all eight balls.

Best: I gave them trucks to run through the dirt.

Worst: They prefer to eat the dirt and stir it around with sticks and then poke each other with the sticks.

Best: We have a wading pool with water toys.

Worst: The kids toss dirt, grass, pine needles, pine cones, and sticks in it.

Best: I have children size chairs outside so they can sit comfortably when resting. (Or time out!)

Worst: They insist on sitting on one chair and putting another on their head or running through the yard with the chairs in the air pointing at each other. They all fought over one Mickey Mouse chairs  so I bought more chairs including another Mickey Mouse and a princess chair…they still all want the original Mickey Mouse chair.

Best: I bought riding toys, four exactly alike, except two in purple and two in red.

Worst: They still argue over who gets to ride which one.

Best: Wylie (the dog) gets to play outside with us.

Worst: The children have discovered Wylie’s water bowl…can you say mud?

Best: It’s cool to be the popular kid on the playground…that would be me!

Worst: They also don’t let me rest…they sit on me…hot, sweaty, and dirty, all of us!

Best: Naptime! Yay, they all take a nap at the same time! It’s quiet!

Worst: I don’t get to take a nap…

On Another Note: Most of you know I’ve been sick this past week. Apparently the germies must have invaded my brain as well as my body. When I went to take the kiddos outside to play in the pool yesterday I remembered my antibiotic was photosensitive, so I went to grab the sunscreen spray…I proceeded to douse myself with Febreeze! The upside is I smell like “meadows and rain”…tis my life!

22 thoughts on “Everyone Wants To Be The Cool Kid!

  1. Suzi, this post was adorable!

    “Worst: The children have discovered Wylie’s water bowl…can you say mud?”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! OMG…how funny!

    And this….

    ” so I went to grab the sunscreen spray…I proceeded to douse myself with Febreeze! The upside is I smell like “meadows and rain”…tis my life!”

    Bwhahahahahahaha! CRACKED ME UP!! That sounds exactly like something I would do. But I would do it regardless of being sick. I can be so absentminded at times.

    Have a great day, my friend!
    X

    • “But I would do it regardless of being sick. I can be so absentminded at times.” -me too, but this time I had an excuse! What I didn’t say is I didn’t realize I was using Fabreeze until after I’d prayed my entire body, lol!

  2. Alex got a big screen tv years ago. It was delivered in a big big box. Although we have toys galore, all the kids wanted to do was play inside that huge cardboard box. Fabreze works fine as sunscreen. I don’t know how you do it with a lot of no-neck monsters every day. I would play cowboys and indians with them and tie their little asses to trees until it’s time to go home.

  3. What’s wrong with meadows and rain? 🙂 This was a great post for the giggles. So true and only those who know the true nature of children will appreciate it. I applaud you for your patience….despite the germies!

  4. I can’t see Fabreze making a good sunscreen, Suzi, but it’s nice to hear you smelled sweet! Isn’t that just like kids, though? Buy them a toy, yet they’d rather play with the box it came in! And why they seem to be magnetically drawn to playing with mud and arguing among themselves is beyond me!

  5. Oh, Suzi – I laughed so hard about the Febreeze eau de pew away that my ribs are sore. I’m still laughing.

    I can so relate to the kids wanting all 8 balls. My three shih tzus are fiercely competitive about some things and toys are one of them. I buy two EXACT duplicates of a toy and give each dog their “copy” of the toy. Each dog wants the other’s toy. When they get it, no, no, no, that’s not the right one and go after another toy. There is a lot of scuffling, yipping, and baring of teeth (all full of sound and fury, signifying nothing). After a while of musical toys, they FINALLY settle down with the toy I originally gave them. lol

  6. I wish I could come hang out with you and watch the kids at their best . . . and their worth. Sounds like they keep your hands full. (No wonder you got sick).

  7. I’m kind of glad that it’s not just my kids that will fight over something, even if there are two of them. Each wants what the other has (or doesn’t want the other to have anything!)

    I’ve never tried Febreeze as sunscreen. I think I’ll stick with my Coppertone Sport 🙂

  8. Oh my … what a trying and fun life you lead! Kids are never satisfied with what they have for long, are they?
    I think using Febreeze (as sunscreen or perfume) here in the woods would make me a target for every bug in the area! 😉
    Now that school is out, you have me thinking about writing a best/worst list for the life of a teacher … the balance of such a post forces you to look at the good side when maybe the bad side has you wondering why you do this.
    thanks for the smiles.

Leave a Reply

