As The Day Unfolds…

“The more our bodies fail us, the more naked and more demanding is the spirit, the more open and loving we can become if we are not afraid of what we are and of what we feel. I am not a phoenix yet, but here among the ashes, it may be that the pain is chiefly that of new wings trying to push through.” ~May Sarton, Recovering: A Journal

IMG_3228

 

We go through phases of being self-conscious of our bodies, embarrassed by our thoughts, or unsure of our talents. We worry ourselves with what others think of us. We allow this concern to prevent us from being who we are.  How long will it take us to realize what we think of ourselves is what matters?

Perhaps if we learn to dance with vulnerability, and hum along to her song, our hearts would open. If we allow our fears to flap in the wind like tiny birds will they fly away? Can you imagine the freedom of our souls once we find the rhythm to life’s music?

Today I wish to put myself out there…

to not censor the words I place on my paper/screen,

to not be ashamed of my tears,

to say the words no one dares to say,

to laugh out loud when no one tells a joke,

to dance where no music is playing,

to sing out of tune among the voices of melody,

to find the grace within the jagged exteriors of my soul,

to find what stirs deep within,

to be who I am without pretense or apology…

What do you wish for today?

The privilege of a lifetime is to become who you truly are. – C.G. Jung

20 thoughts on “As The Day Unfolds…

  1. Suzi, I wanted to stand up and CHEER after reading this post!

    BRA-VA!!! Well said!

    “How long will it take us to realize what we think of ourselves is what matters?”

    A-men!

    You and I always seem to travel through similar moments in our lives at the same time; experiencing similar life lessons. And it’s funny because blogging has been one of my greatest teachers in daring to speak my truth, by putting it out there and sharing ALL that I am; in spite of any doubts.

    “The privilege of a lifetime is to become who you truly are. – C.G. Jung”

    Beautiful quote!

    Thank you for this post, my friend!

    X

  2. This is so beautiful and profound, Suzi! Reading this, I feel energized, confident, ready to tackle the challenges of a new day. That’s what you had in mind, isn’t it, my friend?! Thank you for jump-starting my morning!

  3. I loved this post! I cannot tell you how many years I was the people pleaser – as long as everyone around me was happy I thought I’d be happy too, but I just got lost in the shuffle. Thankfully, age has helped me, and the fact that my husband told me to stop letting people walk all over me!

    • Biz, I’ve lived that same story. My hubby told me the same thing, but I think it took age for the truth to settle in my bones…it gives great meaning to the saying “when I grow up I want to be me”.

  4. That’s a terrific wish list, Suzi.

    I often dance in the ice cream aisle . . . and sing along with the music. I try not to worry more about what others think of me than I do about what I think of myself.

    When we know WHO we are . . . we know HOW to live.

    • Now, that is the exact aisle in the grocery store I’d want to dance! Have you tried Blue Bell ice cream? Oh my, it’s hands down the best brand I’ve had yet! I was raving so about it to another customer and she put back her Edys and grabbed a carton!

  5. Synchronicity. This very morning I was pondering … what if … I quite concerning myself about (whatever) … ? I concluded that life would actually be better. And here you are with the same message. Beautiful. Let us celebrate, thee, me and we.

  6. Here’s to all the above! Sometimes we seem to live according to what others think we should be. Bravo for those who can be confident and secure in their own skin. On the flip side, this is a wonderful mindset ONLY if what we say/write/do is positive and constructive. May we all follow this advice. 🙂 Wonderful words, my friend.

Leave a Reply

