I’ve Been Down Under (The Weather That Is)

As gently as night wrapped her shawl around me she eased her way out. Sun, not as shy, burst her way in, ready to frolic. As playful and inviting as she was, I could not rise to meet her.  And so it went for three days…

Have you ever felt so miserable it was all you could do to breathe? I clung to the sofa and my bed for three days. It was all I could do to move about the house. A percussionist had taken residence in my head. Medication only made me nauseous and ice packs only bounced the banging from one temple to the other. Chills and sweats took turns invading my body while the pain that seared within settled into my back. Finally, I made it to the doctor’s office. After days and nights of clawing at the covers I drifted into medicinal slumber to awake in the middle of the night feeling great…and then the drugs wore off. Antibiotics kicked in and I joined the land of the living today.

I actually made it to Sam’s Club…the trip wore me out, but I feel like I’ve at least accomplished something this week. Nobody likes being sick and it doubly sucks when it falls on a long weekend with gorgeous weather. Then I remember I am entitled to a long weekend because it is Memorial Day, and I am ashamed to complain of being sick… And to freedom we owe a debt of gratitude to those who lost their lives in defense of it.

In honor of Memorial Day, I’d like to share a couple of photos DirtMan took back in 04 at Arlington National Cemetery.

And I'm proud to be an American, where at least I know I'm free. And I won't forget the men who died, who gave that right to me. ~Lee Greenwood

And I’m proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free. And I won’t forget the men who died, who gave that right to me. ~Lee Greenwood

A hero is someone who has given his or her life to something bigger than oneself.  ~Joseph Campbell

A hero is someone who has given his or her life to something bigger than oneself. ~Joseph Campbell

27 thoughts on “I’ve Been Down Under (The Weather That Is)

  1. “Have you ever felt so miserable it was all you could do to breathe? ”

    Yes, I have, Suzi and OMG…was it ever HORRIBLE, so I totally feel for you. About 5 years ago, I got the flu and could not move for almost 5 days. Every bone in my body ached. Even my HAIR hurt – HA!

    So glad to hear you’re feeling better, my friend. Rest easy and take care of yourself.

    Sending ya a BIG hug of Reiki…

    (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((( You )))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

    Happy Memorial Day, tomorrow!

    X

    P.S. FAB photos!

    • Ron, I am so thrilled to be up and somewhat functional today, even if I”m not doing what I’d planned to be doing today! Feeling your Reiki hugs…thanks, friend! XOXO

  2. I drove through Arlington Cemetery once when I was visiting DC. It was almost an epiphany. The energy in that place, far from being low or sad, was very high, but peaceful. I was amazed…it wasn’t what I was expecting. It was actually a very healing experience.

    Sorry you had such a rough go. Your ailment sounds a bit like what I had last month for about 24 hours, especially the hot and cold and the bones aching fiercely. Bet you are thrilled to be beyond that! God bless antibiotics 🙂

    • It was unlike what I’d expected. The changing of the guards is amazing.
      I’d forgotten how rough a kidney infection can be…migraines are just horrible anyway. Happy to be feeling better; can’t wait to be tiptop!

  3. Glad to hear you are feeling better. Seems illness always picks the worse/most inconvenient time to hit, doesn’t it? So far I have avoided the latest flu/bug that has been taking many student victims in the past week or so … since school is almost over I assume that if that bug is going to catch me it will be the first day of vacation 😉

  4. Suzi, I’m sorry to hear you’ve been sick — it sounds perfectly awful. But you’re on the mend now, and that’s a far better state, isn’t it? Beautiful photo, Dirt Man — thanks for sharing it on this holiday.

  5. Yes, I can relate to the sickness you described – it’s just awful. I’m glad you’re on the mend and took this opportunity to remind us about this somber holiday.

Leave a Reply

