In The Spirit Of Giving

The purpose of life is to discover your gift. The meaning of life is to give it away. ~David Viscott

I mentioned a few days ago this quote has great meaning to me. Today I’m going to put it to practice. You see today is this man’s birthday. This man is my Daddy.

These are my parents. Photo by Hatcher Portrait Design

These are my parents. Photo by Hatcher Portrait Design

He turned 83 today. Both of my parents are giving people. They are not wealthy people, but they eagerly share all they have. Daddy believes strongly in holistic healing. He shares his knowledge freely with others. If he hears of anyone in need, friend or stranger, he is ready to help. Today in honor of Daddy’s birthday and in the spirit of giving, I am offering my first book, Stepping into the Wilderness (kindle version) for free.

By they way, Daddy likes my book, but so you know, he likes the second one even better. If you enjoy this one be sure to check out Swimming the River.

26 thoughts on “In The Spirit Of Giving

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY to your Daddy, Suzi!

    What a beautiful photo of BOTH your parents – you can really feel the love between them.

    “Both of my parents are giving people. They are not wealthy people, but they eagerly share all they have. Daddy believes strongly in holistic healing. He shares his knowledge freely with others. If he hears of anyone in need, friend or stranger, he is ready to help.”

    That is so AWESOME!

    And speaking of your ‘book’, today is my day for sitting in the park, within nature; reading your book. It’s a gorgeous day here, so I look forward to being outside and being inspired by your words.

    Have a lovely Sunday, my friend!

    X

    • Thank you, Ron. They are surely a lovely couple.
      I hope you enjoy this beautiful day. So happy I’m able to share in your day even though I’m miles away!
      Much love to you, my friend!

    • Thank you, Georgette. I wish I was with him today. He lives about four hours from me. I wish I’d taken the trip to be with him. He’s had a few little spells these past few days and I fear perhaps they’re mini strokes. Being as stubborn as he is, he’s refused to go to the doctor. He’s feeling better today though quite weak. He and my mother both are truly gifts to me in this lifetime. I’ve learned so much about love, life, and humility through them. I’m am truly fortunate not only to have such loving parents, but to still have them at my age. I am truly blessed.

    • Thank you. Daddy doesn’t expect great accomplishment from his children though he thinks we’re capable of them; he takes pleasure in us living honest, humble lives and us being of service to humanity.

  2. Happy Birthday to your daddy, Suzi! Makes me miss mine even more, and he’s been gone four years now. What a lovely photo of your parents (tell you mom I love her earrings, too!)

  3. What a generous offer you’ve made. I don’t have a Kindle, but hope those who do enjoy your wonderful words! Hope you have a fantastic day planned for the birthday boy!

Leave a Reply

