Inspire To Be Who You Are

Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one’s definition of your life; define yourself. – Harvey Fierstein

That little quote is how I find inspiration for most areas of my life. I simply listen to the voice of my spirit. Whether I speak through words on paper or images on fabric, I tell my stories to the world. Expressing myself is more important than being heard. I choose happiness, and my actions define my character.

I never lack inspiration because I find it all around me. I find the desire to be the best person I can through the people I love and respect. I find life lessons in nature, and feed my soul by photographing it. If you’ve never tried it, take a walk with your camera in tow. Photograph anything that catches your eye. Don’t be afraid to be obscure in what you capture. Think about what you’re photographing and its connection to other objects is nature. Review your photos and see if there is a semblance to relationships in your own life.

Water whets the appetite of my creative nature.

Water whets the appetite of my creative nature.

All aspects of living, past, present, or future, is worthy of exploration.

All aspects of living, past, present, or future, is worthy of exploration.

You can’t feel the gust of wind on the mountain top without climbing the mountain.

You can’t feel the gust of wind on the mountain top without climbing the mountain.

No matter where you are the beauty within you is waiting to unfurl.

No matter where you are the beauty within you is waiting to unfurl.

To live a creative life we must first lose the fear of being wrong. ~ Joseph Chilton Pearce

Spin Cycle: Inspiration

 

28 thoughts on “Inspire To Be Who You Are

  1. I’m in a funk now and I think it’s due to the crummy weather we’ve had lately. All I want to do it be outside with my camera but it’s been cold, rainy, snowy….and work is crazy busy! Add Peanut and her family moving in and I have ZERO time for myself these days! But your pics are lovely and I’ll be inspired vicariously through them! 🙂

  2. ” I find life lessons in nature, and feed my soul by photographing it. If you’ve never tried it, take a walk with your camera in tow. Photograph anything that catches your eye.”

    You are SO right, Suzi! Ever since I got a camera three years ago, it has caused me to ‘notice’ more; inspiring me in ways I never knew possible. Often times an image that I see while walking down the street, will inspire me to capture it with my camera, and then write something about it.

    LOVE the quote by Harvey Fierstein! And it’s ironic you shared that because I just recently saw him in an interview.

    Glorious photos!

    X

  3. That quote reminds me of a favorite quote from Pride and Prejudice:

    “There is a stubbornness about me that never can bear to be frightened at the will of others. My courage always rises at every attempt to intimidate me.” ~ Elizabeth Bennet, ch. 31

  4. Exquisite, Susan. I love the quote.

    I found this gem today: “Whoever is present are the right people. Whenever it begins is the right time. Whatever happens is the only thing that could have happened. And when it’s over, it’s over.
    ~ Anne Lamott

  5. Your blog has been an inspiration for me to work on conveying my thoughts in a concise, descriptive prose. Your photography takes me out of the norm of daily life. Thanks for sharing your talent and your inner self.

  6. I need to remember this…..I have occasions when I sit down to create a post and find myself completely tongue-tied because all I can think is—-will they like this? Beautiful pictures!

  7. It’s been a while since I been here.. Very inspirational post, you’re totally right… And beautiful pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

