Four Days Off

I haven’t been around much because I took the last four days for relaxation and enjoyment. I’ll give you a brief synopsis today and a bit more info and pics later on.

We headed to the mountains and encountered beautiful weather for all the things we wanted to do.

I visited my old elementary school which is now a museum. In case you didn’t know I grew up in a small town which was the basis for the television series The Waltons…I’ll tell you more in a later post.

IMG_3069

The birds sang from the wee hours until dusk.

The birds sang from the wee hours until dusk.

The cows did not nag as they were content to graze the pasture.

The cows did not nag as they were content to graze the pasture.

IMG_3265

Country roads led to treasures lost in time.

Other gates were portals of time.

Other gates were portals of time.

IMG_3319

People die. Structures fall. Time remains.

Water still flows...

Water still flows…

While there's peace in the valley,

While there’s peace in the valley,

wind blows across the mountain tops.

wind blows across the mountain tops.

So, I went to a museum, a county artisan’s fair, a brewery, and a cidery. I got in a hike and stargazing…and I visited with people I love! Not bad for four days of rejuvenation…oh yeah, I got to take many pictures, like over five hundred…yes, it was a grand time!

27 thoughts on “Four Days Off

    • I didn’t post any of the bits of color I captured here and there…yet. They really don’t have a lot of color there yet as they just got through a thirty inch snow fall…in fact it snowed a bit while we were there and then turned around and temps soared in the 70s.

  1. You are one wise woman to know when a respite is necessary — and to take it! Good for you, Suzi! I enjoyed tagging along on your trip, but there’s something a bit sad about seeing so many broken-down buildings, isn’t there?

  2. if you took 500 pics, it’s going to be hard to narrow them down if they’re all as lovely as these! So happy you got to take a little R&R. It’s always good to rejuvenate the mind, body and spirit.

  3. ” I took the last four days for relaxation and enjoyment.”

    Good for you, Suzi! And it looks and sounds like you had a glorious time!

    TOTALLY awesome photos! Especially loved the one of the cows in the pasture. WOW…those mountains in the background are stunning! I also loved the one of the fallen structure.

    “In case you didn’t know I grew up in a small town which was the basis for the television series The Waltons.”

    How cool is that!

    Thanks for sharing your weekend!

    X

    • I loved watching the cows! I’ll show some more later and some of the orchard where they were…so pretty even though the apple trees are currently bare.

  4. I see a dark-eyed junco still lingering there. 🙂 I haven’t seen the one that spent the winter with us. It must have headed home. Great photos! Glad you had such nice weather.

Leave a Reply

