Learning From Children

fairy 001

A man’s mistakes are his portals of discovery. – James Joyce

Sometimes life seems full of distractions. If only I remembered to stop and take a deep breath I’d see the beauty in the moment. Yesterday I had a few of those moments.

I was surrounded by endless childish chatter, not babbles but the repetitious verse of a single child’s verse sung back in forth from a nerve-grating high pitch to a giggly low pitch. The vibration was poking at my nerves as I was trying to cut fabric shapes for an art quilt. A few slips of my scissors cutting off part of my design and I was finished. Concentration on art was not to be had. I put down my shears and joined in piecing a puzzle. My eyes strained as the puzzle pieces blended into the tablecloth, and my necked arced in unison to the beat of the childish screeching beside me. I took a deep breath and let out a light chuckle. Soon I was absorbed in puzzle, song, and laughter. When the puzzle was completed coloring took over. No care was taken for staying in the lines, nor was color selection a top priority. Childish scribbles of red crayon outstretched trees and Strawberry Shortcake’s face took on tones of blue and green. Did any of that really matter? No, fun was had! Then we proceeded to singing and dancing. Smiles glowed as the sun streamed in the windows and laughter echoed against the walls that contained our happiness.

Later when my house was once again quiet I sewed the poorly cut fabric scraps onto my quilt. I was sewing with a quilting foot and my stitches became the scribbles from the coloring book. When I completed all of the bits I was working on I stood back and took it in. My choppy pieces with uneven stitches added life and beauty to the panel I was working on. I remembered life is not about perfection…it’s all about the beauty of the moment.

And the winner of my book Swimming the River is Alice from Backstreets and Alleys!

16 thoughts on “Learning From Children

  1. “Did any of that really matter? No, fun was had! Then we proceeded to singing and dancing. Smiles glowed as the sun streamed in the windows and laughter echoed against the walls that contained our happiness.”

    TOTALLY made me smile, Suzi 🙂 Isn’t being around children such an awesome reminder of living and enjoying the moment?

    ” I remembered life is not about perfection…it’s all about the beauty of the moment.”

    Amen!

    And a HUGE congrats to Alice for being the winner of your book!!!!

    X

  2. I like the way you’ve expressed this, Suzi. Being totally wrapped up in “your world” for one minute, then switching gears and getting caught up in the children’s world the next. We can all learn from one another, can’t we? I guess it’s true what they say, A child’s “work” is PLAY!!!

  3. What a great lesson on how to let go and live in the moment! It’s a rare person that can find beauty amidst the chaos. You are one of those people!

  4. I could relate to this because my own kids sometimes get on my nerves when I’m trying to concentrate. Rather than stop and join the fun, I often persevere at whatever I was working on and wind up frustrated. I love how you summed it up: “life is not about perfection…it’s all about the beauty of the moment.” I’ll try to remember that next time.

Leave a Reply

