Getting Along

“When you find peace within yourself, you become the kind of person who can live at peace with others.” – Peace Pilgrim

early daffodils and hat 003

This pair of cardinals frequents my backyard. This Rose of Sharon is their favorite perch. They sit there for hours watching the activity of the squirrels and other birds. They used to flutter to higher ground or fly off when Wylie and her friend, Rex, played in the yard. They feared the dogs until they came to be familiar with them. Now, the dogs can scamper about the yard and beneath the tree, and the red birds seem to guard them.

Daily we come in contact with those different from ourselves. They might look, act, or think differently. Some adjust their thinking or try things their way. Others feel they must force their beliefs on them and change them. Do they do it out of fear? It is a matter of control?.

I think we can peacefully coexist. I don’t think anyone else need convert their ways or thoughts to mine nor do I to theirs. I think we can and should be respectful of one another. Perhaps we should focus on similarities rather than differences. When we replace our fear with love we will come to accept and value individuality.

17 thoughts on “Getting Along

    • I “love” that “powerful” quote!
      I wish I knew how to make a peace sign on here, but I’ll settle for a smile since it’s the only one I know how to do!

  1. LOVE that first quote, Suzi!!!!!!

    And yet, once again…you share words of infinite wisdom using nature as your guide. I LOVE how you do that!!!!!

    “When we replace our fear with love we will come to accept and value individuality.”

    You nailed it!

    Have a faaaaaaabulous day, my friend!

    X

    • They are almost always together. Not sure if it’s the same pair or not, but we’ve had a pair that have been hanging around for about three years. We have quite a few cardinals who like our yard. Lucky me since it’s my favorite bird.

  2. Yes, we can co-exist. I see “pro-gun” posts and the “anti gun” posts. I don’t think either one is “stupid” although I may not have the same views. My son is Christian, my daughter is Muslim and I am a Pagan. We can still sit at the same table and enjoy. All we have to do is respect each other and everything else will fall into place.

  3. Respect for where another person is in life is so valuable. We never know how God is working in their life…or his timing. To be judgmental defeats the divine purpose!

  4. Yes! I love this! I have felt this way for a long time. Growing up in a very conservative, Christian environment, so fear, control and converting others to the “right” way was drummed into my little skull. It was so good to let go of them all! I do believe that respect, acceptance and love are the answers. We do need to focus on what unites us, and not what divides us. Great post!

Leave a Reply

