When I Grow Up…

Time is the coin of your life. It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent. Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you. ~Carl Sandburg

Work in progress - quilt to donate to Relay for Life

Work in progress – quilt to donate to Relay for Life

There never seems to be enough hours in the day to do all the things I want to do. It’s as if the Great Magician waves a wand and the day disappears with much still undone. Yes, I do run a business full time, and I’m tired at the end of the day. And yes, I do have a lot of ongoing projects. And yes again, I actually do get a lot accomplished….but there’s so much more I want to do! I just need more time.

We just don’t know when time will run out. I wish someone had emphasized that when I was younger. They probably did but in my youth I thought I had all the time in the world. I had no idea how quickly it would slip away. Now, I realize the importance of prioritizing, nourishing my soul, resting my body, and spending time enjoying the company of the ones I love.

I haven’t been posting as often because I haven’t had much to say. I’m still working (slowly!) on my novel. I am quilting like there’s no tomorrow. This weekend, I cleaned out my fabric stash and shopped with a friend to replenish it. I’ve started an online fiber arts class. I figure you guys are probably a bit tired of seeing posts of my creative endeavors so I set up a fiber arts blog. I know, like I need one more thing to do! Anyway, the title of my fiber arts blog is The Renegade Stitcher. I haven’t posted anything yet, but I will soon.

How I wish I’d had the same interests years ago so I could have started my creative journey earlier. I’ve come to the realization I might never do all I really want to do, so I must fast forward to those things most important. The problem is after all these years I still haven’t decided what I want to be when I grow up…

Today's Inspiration

Today’s Inspiration

46 thoughts on “When I Grow Up…

  1. I love this post, especially since I was thinking the very same thing on my way to work this morning. There is never enough time. We can only fill our hours up the best way we can and hope that at the end we can look back and smile.

  2. I recall my mother lamenting the same thing when she was in her late fifties. I finally decided. I want to be a writer. Perhaps I’m halfway there, and like you, wish I’d known this two or three decades sooner. But better late than never. Blessings on your journey. BTW, your new design is fascinating.

    • There’s just so many possibilities. I want to write and I want to sew. Bottom line is I want to create…if only I didn’t have to work for a living! Or if I could just incorporate all the things I enjoy into the “perfect job”!
      Thank you…I decided to spiff things up a bit! Now, let’s see how I can manage three blogs!

  3. ” I realize the important of prioritizing, nourishing my soul, resting my body, and spending time enjoying the company of the ones I love.”

    That’s the key, Suzi…..prioritizing, because as you shared…time moves so quickly that we don’t want to look back and say, “Why didn’t I spend more time doing this, or this, or this?”

    Your quilt is so beautiful! You are so talented in so many ways!

    Also, I love your new template. I’ve been working on a new one for my blog too. And congrats on your new blog. I will place it on my reader 🙂

    X to you, my friend!

  4. Susie,
    I love the quilt but love your words more. They reminded me of my Dad who would always tease me when I would come home from college with “What are you going to be?” I’m still not sure! 🙂

  5. The quilt should become an heirloom!
    I have actually flitted too much like a butterfly, music-wise as well as in other things. On the music, it has paid off in giving me a useful grounding for composition, which I hadn’t thought of. Now, I need to focus on improving my best strengths, methinks, rather than more flitting and sipping.

  6. You have done fabulously well with this quilt my friend.
    and the needlecraft is also very nice, you certainly have
    many strings to your bow and how lovely that is 🙂

    Have a very nice evening 🙂

  7. You hit the nail on the head! If only we had a clue when we were young; at least you’ve recognized what’s important now, while you can still do things. For some, that realization comes far too late or, worse, never.

    • Thanks, Georgette. I thought the new theme sort of cleaned it up a bit. In fact, I liked the theme so much I used it for my new blog as well…and thinking about changing my poetry/photography one to it!

  8. This is really pretty! Is it finished? What are the finished dimensions? It’s sure to be a treasure for someone. Be sure to let me know when you post on your new blog.

    • I’ll have to measure it again because I can’t remember…sick and sort of brain dead right now! I got a really cool fabric to back it and going to extend an inch around the front to pop it out! And I did end up posting yesterday on the new blog.

  9. I can relate Suzicate.

    I wish I had the perspective now and could redirect some of my energies as a youngster. I know I can’t change the past, but I think I can try to motivate others; glad to be working with young people on a daily basis so that I can at least try.

  10. That quote by Carl Sandburg is one of my favorites. As you know I feature it on my own blog page. There is a richness to these words and we all must be mindful in embracing our time.

    Glad you are pursuing your novel and making progress. Love the new web page!

  11. How incredibly beautiful that quilt is! And what a lot of work and time you are investing in it. I would say that is coin well spent. As for stressing about how much you would like to do, keep that thought and cherish it. I am at a time of my life where my enormous drive is slowing down. I still want to do things, even things I love doing, but I don’t seem to have the energy anymore. Perhaps things will change. They have before. It’s just that I’m running out of coin. 😛

  12. Oh I love this quilt. It is fantastic. And if I were tired of reading what you post I wouldn’t be here. Isn’t that kind of the way it works? If people don’t want to read what you post they stop reading? I don’t know that I will make it over to the other blog . . . . seems like I have more and more blogs to read! 🙂

  13. The quilt is beautiful! Congrats on the new blog, too. I don’t know how you do it – you have the poetry blog and this blog already. You’re right, there’s never enough time to get done all we need to. I guess the best we can do is do as much as we can , and have fun in the process 🙂

  14. Ahh, how youth is wasted on the young! Funny how it takes decades to figure out how to successfully be young, isn’t it!? Your quilt is fabulous and lucky the person who will receive it. LIfe seems to move at warp speed at my house too. And it’s going to get even faster very soon. (that will be a future post!)

Leave a Reply

