Clean Living

Let the clean air blow the cobwebs from your body. Air is medicine – Lillian Russell (1862-1922)

An untarnished mountain sky creates a brilliant blue backdrop.

An untarnished mountain sky creates a brilliant blue backdrop.

We had planned on taking a trip to the mountains this weekend. Then it snowed. We considered canceling our trip. Instead we talked to several people in the area and found out the roads were fairly clear with the exception of black ice on back roads. We decided to take our chances, and I’m glad we did.

The farther we got away from city lights the brighter the sky appeared. Stars sparkled across the sky like Christmas lights. The moon shone and reflected the snowy mountains. It appeared as if the world was swaddled in a purple blanket. Perhaps it was the lack of street lights or perhaps it can be attributed to clean living. In remote areas of low pollution the dark world lights up beneath a heavenly glow.

The next day we went for a short hike. The sky was a brilliant blue and the air crisp and clean.  My lungs couldn’t inhale quickly or deeply enough. The woods untrodden, our feet drew designs across the silky white screen throughout the woods.

Could this stone be Mother Nature's footprint?

Could this stone be Mother Nature’s footprint?

The creek water poured clear over the mossy rocks and danced through the woody banks. I thought about the cleanness of my childhood. My youth consisted of unpolluted skies and unadulterated waters. I had no idea how lucky I was to have 230 acres plus of land and water to explore…and to think I sometimes complained of boredom!

Moss growing on rocks of a small waterfall.

Moss growing on rocks of a small waterfall.

I am ever so grateful to grow up in a clean environment and experience the arts of nature. Every day the creek symphony played for me. Many a time when I felt invisible I listened to the gurgles, splashes, and hums of the stream, and every single time I heard the voice within speak to me. These words formed poetry and sustained me. Every direction I looked I witnessed the masterpieces of the greatest artist of all. In the large view green and grey mountains blended to blue clouded sky. Close ups included velvet moss, spiked ferns, wild black-eyed Susans, acorns, whippoorwills, and crawfish. I roamed the land of plenty, and though materially I didn’t have much I had plenty. I learned there is no art form more beautiful or powerful than what nature provides.

The sun melted the snow from this mossy hillside.

The sun melted the snow from this mossy hillside.

I have been blessed with all the elements of clean living, and I am ever so grateful.

I bent down and found this heart among the rocks of the creek bed. Perhaps I'd left it behind...

I bent down and found this heart among the rocks of the creek bed. Perhaps I’d left it behind…

Spin Cycle: Clean

 

40 thoughts on “Clean Living

  1. “We decided to take our chances, and I’m glad we did.”

    So am I, Suzi, because this post is awesome!!!!

    “Every direction I looked I witnessed the masterpieces of the greatest artist of all.

    I learned there is no art form more beautiful or powerful than what nature provides.”

    Amen….isn’t that the truth?

    And OMG…that last photo of the heart-shaped rock is so touching!

    Thanks for sharing your day, my friend. Enjoyed!

    X

  2. Wow, you took some AMAZING pictures! Yes, nature is the most beautiful and powerful form of art! I have 15 acres. Nothing like 230, but it’s so nice to take a hike in my own woods. Great post!

  3. A lovely post and though a city girl by birth and choice, I can appreciate. We lived in Humboldt County in CA for a year. We had a scant four acres and everyday walks were always an adventure … a memories that after nearly twenty years, I still feed off of.

    Mother Earth’s footprint: What a fabulous catch and what a fine imagination. I think it is!

    Thanks for the ride, Suzicate. 🙂

  4. Why do the blues always look so much more vivid in winter? I think you’re on a “blue streak”! I love the first one with the bare branches against the clear sky. Very striking.

  5. Beautiful! I guess we all took for granted our once-pristine world. How did it deteriorate so much, just in our lifetimes?? I love your photos — how blessed you are to live close to Nature!

  6. Hi Suzicate,
    What a stunning blog of your photography you have here. I am transfixed and must spend more time reading every post. Your photography is absolutely beautiful and this post has so many photos I loved I cannot pick on tho that heart rock wrenched my heart. Isn’t nature the most healing of all? Without nature and where I live on a huge expanse of unspoiled land, I don’t know where I’d be healthwise. I have lots of trouble with this old body but at least I am not in the city. I think I must think that every single day as I look over humanity below, the smog as it grows each years, the lights at night that seem to sparkly more as they gather in abundance.

    thank you for such beautiful offerings and coming over to my blog so I could find yours. xox linda

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. There is so much beauty in nature. I love getting away to the mountains where I’m from and taking pictures. I live in the city now but am so glad I grew up in the country.

  7. I’m glad you went, too and shared pictures. It looks gorgeous! I’m not used to freezing weather, but with views like that, it’s be worth putting on a jacket or three. The heart rock is a nice find, too.

  8. Every time I visit here and see the awesome photos of the awesome nature you’ve experienced, I say, “My time is coming.”

    When I see it and hear you describe it in a poetic way, I know it’s what I also love, and that I’ll get out into it more as my life goes on.

    Happy New Year, Suzicate!

  9. Lovely post and photos Suzi. What could be the reason that all the photos carry a blue tinge? Is this deliberate?

    Yes the gratitude that you hold about growing up in a lovely environment is a great awareness. How could you use this experience to do something positive?

    Shakti

    • Apparently, I had a setting on my camera off…I thought it was the sky reflecting in the snow… I very much appreciate where and how I grew up, and I try to be positive always. Not sure of anything specifically I can do.

Leave a Reply

