A Time Of Rest

Montebello 012

Nature looks dead in winter because her life is gathered into her heart. She withers the plant down to the root that she may grow it up again fairer and stronger. She calls her family together within her inmost home to prepare them for being scattered abroad upon the face of the earth.  ~Hugh Macmillian, “Rejunvenescence” , The Ministry of Nature, 1871

I am not a cold weather person. Winter is the season I spend the least time outdoors. While there is still much beauty to be taken in, I prefer to snuggle up inside. If nothing else winter makes me appreciate the other seasons even more.

I spend my winters coddling my soul. It is the season of homemade soups. I cook and bake a lot. I nurture myself by feeding my family. I get more reading done than any other time. I soothe my creative urges with quilting and other fiber projects. Winter is the season I have more time for writing.  It is not unusual for me to have two or more projects in each category going simultaneously.

When I get cabin fever I bundle up and get out for a hike or photography shoot. That is all it takes to boost my spirits and rejuvenate my creativity.

Winter also means the annual quilt show outing for my friend and me. I look forward to this event all year. I get so many ideas and purchase great products I can’t find anywhere else. Most of all, I get to spend the whole day with my wonderful friend.

Nothing beats time spent with those you love. Of course, I get to do this all year. It seems more so in the summer, but the difference is the winter draws us in closer together. Relationships just seem homier rather than social and my heart treasure the comfort in that feeling.

I am a homebody so even though I claim not to like winter it is the season that soothes me.  Winter allows me guilt-free time for myself.  It is a time I pull inside myself and build myself up to offer myself to others. Winter is a soulful season for me.

Spin Cycle: Winter

29 thoughts on “A Time Of Rest

  1. I appreciate your thoughts on winter, Suzi. I wonder if the people who live where winter is longest would disagree with you, though. Perhaps they find winter invigorating and relish time snowboarding, ice skating, skiing, etc. However, I’m a Southerner at heart, so I’m like you — snuggling into myself when it turns dark and cold and looking forward eagerly to the return of sunshine and flowers!

  2. Sounds like a wonderful way to spend winter! Much better than getting up and going to a job at 7:30am! I also love Soup Season. Hope you have an inspirational time at the quilt show!

  3. It’s funny Suzicate, because I like winter for exactly the same reasons you mention. Autumn on the other hand fills me with dread. It’s knowing that the dark days are ahead that bothers me. The dark days themselves are not so bad! Enjoy the quilt show! And Spring is right around the corner!

  4. I sort of miss a soul-coddling time, here. Days do get shorter, of course, and some coolth creepeth, but not so’s one would notice. So it is same old same old in winter or summer.

  5. I’m definitely a winter homebody and snuggler. I don’t like winter, but I do look forward to spending it curled up with various fiber projects and of course my better half.

  6. “Winter is a soulful season for me.”

    ” it is the season that soothes me.”

    I feel exactly the same as you do, Suzi! Also, like you, I feel more creative during winter. I know I’m in the major minority when it comes to winter, but I truly love it. There is something to me that is so stunning beautiful about the barrenness of winter.

    And I also love all the comfort foods that comes with winter (soups, stews, bread and butter).

    I find it so ironic that I lived in Florida for 20 years (and really enjoyed it), but now enjoy my original roots again.

    Lovely post, my friend!

    X

    P.S. and that photo is FAAAAAABULOUS!!!

  7. I am with you Suzicate as winter is a time of reflection for me being inside more. I do take walks 7 days a week no matter how cold or lousy it gets thanks to the big dog here who cares little if it is cold or not.

  8. This was beautiful. Winter may not be your favorite season to be outside, but it sounds like it is the best season for you inside. I’m glad you find a way to make the most of it – those short bursts outside can be refreshing!

Leave a Reply

