The Colors Of Love

“In our life there is a single color, as on an artist’s palette, which provides the meaning of life and art. It is the color of love.” ~Marc Chagall

Charlotte's quilt design

Charlotte’s quilt design

I treasure time with my goddaughter Charlotte. Today was especially memorable. You see I first held a sewing needle in my hand at age four. I learned to sew with my babysitter. Charlotte just turned five. I’ve sewn many things for Charlotte, but today was the first time Charlotte and I sewed together.

Charlotte and I made a small quilt together. It is for her most prized possession, her stuffed toy dog, Stinky. Charlotte designed the quilt herself. She colored beach scenes on muslin patches with oil pastels. She selected bright cheery fabrics in purples, pinks, and blue. I sewed the patches together while she handled the pins for me. From drawing the design to every single stitch sewn, quilts are created with love. Charlotte and I performed a labor of love together.

A very proud Charlotte

A very proud Charlotte

I hope Charlotte and I have many more chances to experiment with the colors of love and fabrics. I look forward to the day I let her operate the machine and teach her to sew by hand. The time with her was priceless.  I hope she will remember this day. I know I will.

Wylie got lots of love, too!

Wylie got lots of love, too!

Spin Cycle: Color

 

 

34 thoughts on “The Colors Of Love

  1. What a beautiful memory you have created for Miss Charlotte! I think she chose her colors well. I feel sure that quilt will serve Stinky well.

    You are linked!

  2. Suzi, this post put a HUGE on my heart!

    What a precious memory!

    OMG…how adorable Charlotte is!

    And the quilt is just BEAUTIFUL! Love the colors you and she chose!

    Thanks so much for sharing, my friend!

    X to you and Charlotte!

  3. I love this! I’ve collaborated with Edie on some fabric projects – mostly clothes. I printed some of her designs onto t-shirts and have been known to embroider her designs on dresses, skirts and pants. Maybe we’ll get around to a quilt.

  4. You two picked out some beautiful colors! I bet Charlotte will remember this day for a long time and be looking forward to operating your sewing machine, too!

  5. Ohhh! That is the cutest doll/stinky dog blanket I have ever seen. How creative. That is such a treasure that you are showing her how to quilt and sew. She must be an awesome Goddaughter to have you as a Godmother. Her striped pants are adorable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

