Sometimes Things Don’t Work Out…

Betty Boop emboidery squares 003

We are a creative bunch. Given the right tools we can soar in our given field. Some areas require advanced education and some skills can be self-taught.  I’ve always been one to read up on whatever subject happens to be of interest to me. I can’t begin to tell you how many books I’ve read about writing and various needle crafts. And to tell you the truth I might not be the master of anything,  but I’ve come a long way, baby!

I signed up for my very first fiber arts class. I was sooooooooo (does that tell you how much?) excited. Then, bummer…..the rug was pulled from beneath my feet. I had done a lot of research and found the perfect instructor and signed up for an embroidery class. I wanted to do one focusing on nature/landscape but the one that was available was more of a variety. I paid for my class and got an email (to verify my email address) which then rerouted me to create an account through them. The instructor was teaching this through another site which offered a forum. It timed out and wouldn’t let me back on. I spent two hours trying to get on and kept getting the message my email address had too many redirects to that site. Dirt Man (who is also my IT guy) spent several hours trying to get on. We couldn’t get on through another computer in the house either. Apparently my server blocked it. I was unable to email the forum site because their email was a “do not reply” email. Fortunately, I emailed the instructor who couldn’t figure it out. She suggested I go onto the site under a different email, but I couldn’t even get onto the web page. She ended up refunding me money.

I am looking for the silver lining here. This class ended up being one that focused on hand embroidery when I was looking for one mainly with machine embroidery. I already use a lot of hand embroidery in my art quilting. I’m sure I would have learned something, but it is not a weak area for me. So perhaps the up side is it saved me some money. Maybe I’ll look for another class through a different web host or maybe I’ll spend the money on some fiber arts books. One good thing is that it intrigued my interest in incorporating more hand embroidery into my quilting. I’ve even drawn out my main pattern and cut templates to start my next one….so yes, good things really can evolve from crappy situations!

Before I start that one, I have to finish my Betty Boop quilt. Here are a few of the embroidery pieces I’ll be putting in the quilt. Will update with complete quilt photo when I ‘m finished. This quilt is going to be a surprise for my Mama.

Betty Boop emboidery squares 001

Betty Boop emboidery squares 002

35 thoughts on “Sometimes Things Don’t Work Out…

  1. I had the same thing happy to me last year. I was not allowed on my get a job website! No one could fix it. Huh. It worked from my phone though. I love your boops!

  2. Sounds like you made lemonade from your lemon, Suzi — way to go! And your mom will be thrilled with her quilt. I can already see it’s going to be totally cute!

  3. You and I learn just a like…through investigation.

    “….so yes, good things really can evolve from crappy situations!”

    They sure do, Suzi, because look at what you created without even taking that class!!

    These are soooooooooooooo fabulous!

    And in the words of Betty Boop….

    “Boop-boop-a-doop”

    X

  4. Aaargh! Technology is so wonderful when it works. I recently started a writing group via Google Hangouts. After two months of grief when various people couldn’t connect, we are giving up and going to a conference call format. Perhaps hangouts will be okay in a few more months when they get more bandwidth or we lose members!

    I’m a bit too young to remember much about her, but I do recognize her as an icon of my childhood. You’ve rendered her masterfully. I look forward to seeing the finished project.

    • I only know of Betty Boop because of our family history…a wooden Betty Boop doll as my mother’s only doll. I’ve written about it a few times on here.
      I had a few people invite me to hangouts on there but I wasn’t quite sure what they were so I didn’t venture forward.

  5. This is great! It really is rewarding – I have done needlepoint; some fine work and some with heavier yarn. While I loved doing it, I found myself putting it aside constantly for life! I also like knitting and when I used to watch TV, it felt good to be doing something productive.

    • I used to always crochet when watching television. I don’t do as much needle work anymore because my fingers swell and hurt…however, I have embarked on a wall panel I’m doing entirely with hand embroidery. It might take me a long time to complete it!

  6. Your Betty Boop looks great Suzicate.

    I hope the instructor and class learn from this and make improvements to their system. They certainly don’t want bad experiences and systems that don’t work to be the norm for interested students.

  7. How creative, and you do it well! I’ve done a lot of cross-stitch, never tried machine embroidery. Oh that’s right, I don’t have a machine… lol. Drats.

  8. Even though the machine does all the work, I’m sure there’s still a fair amount of talent needed! These are amazing. I’m not sure I have the patience.

Leave a Reply

