Moving Beyond Shallow Waters

From the high perch they view all below. They watch graceful strokes and look out for flailing arms and legs. They differentiate the doggie paddler from the experienced swimmer. They know who should or should not be hanging out in the deep end. They can tell if someone is barely treading water. They can detect a resting float from a drowning bob. They are on alert and tuned in to struggle. They sense danger immediately and attempt to rescue. Lifeguards carry heavy responsibility. They must have keen vision and quick response.

We each need a lifeguard to hold our head to the surface when we are choking. We need someone to lead us to the shore when we’re worn out. We need a reassuring life jacket when we brave the deep waters. We each need someone to be there when we need them. Most of us have a “go to” person. It might be a spouse, parent, or friend. And we often take turns “saving” one another.  The point is, life is much smoother swimming when we share the water with someone else. Who is your lifeguard? Who are the members of your swim team? Together we can learn to manage the waters with both courage and grace.

16 thoughts on “Moving Beyond Shallow Waters

  1. Beautiful post! I have a few lifeguards that switch duty. My husband is there for the day-to-day assistance. If I need a woman’s perspective on a problem, or want to talk about a great pair of shoes I saw, I call my best friend. If I need advice from someone who has been there before, I call Mom.

  2. A great blast of colour, SuziCate. My friend Gary is the one who I know would move heaven and earth…we just live very inconveniently away from one another. One day a solution will evolve! We’ll be 86 and in the same retirement home! 😀

  3. I’ve got a LOT of lifeguards, Suzi, and they’re kind of like Google Circles — each one is called upon for different needs. Hearing your story about lifeguards reminds me of the time my sister, a friend, and I nearly drowned in our park’s swimming pool. We’d ventured too far into the deep end and were flailing around, just as you described, when the lifeguard scooped all three of us out and set us on the bank. It was very frightening!

Leave a Reply

