The School Of Life

By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest. ~Confucius

 

I’ve always considered myself a student of life rather than a teacher of life. Through many areas of my life I’ve been both, some by choice, others by force or accident. How often we forget we are both. For every word we speak and every step we take, someone is listening and watching us. All the while we are listening and watching all around us. We have so much to share with one another.

We make wise choices. We make mistakes. Through it all we learn, we teach and we grow. Often it takes more than once to learn or teach a lesson, but that’s fine because usually one grows a little in the process even if it doesn’t bring desired results the first time.  Never underestimate the importance of your role in the process. Observe. Be receptive. Grow.

23 thoughts on “The School Of Life

  1. Wonderful insight and words, Suzi!

    You and I are so much a like in that we learn through experience by the choices we make through our gut intuition. And you’re right, sometimes we’re the student and other times we’re the teacher. We each have a different role at different times.

    “Through it all we learn, we teach and we grow.”

    Amen!

    Love both the quote AND photo you shared with this post!

    X

  2. Hi SuziCate, I have chosen to pick the third in the list. Not on purpose, just that the only real lessons come from mistakes, and boy have I made some, but I’ve learned and those lessons are the ones we remember. Great post, and lovely photo and quote.

  3. Little do we realize how we influence others by what we choose to do and say…and what we don’t do and say. Whether we’re students or teachers in life, we all can learn from each other.

  4. My job as teacher has me in that role most of the day … but, what makes me the most successful as a teacher is when I become the student … I learn a lot from my students and my mistakes daily … I love to learn.
    Great words Suzi … and that quote is perfect.
    I am sorry I have been a poor commenter/reader/blogger lately …. I am trying to get caught up. I really miss your wise words.

Leave a Reply

