Just Another Storm, Or Is It?

This is what 1969 Camille did to the home of my husband’s grandfather.

Is it just another storm? For those within the path, I can tell you it is not. We always worry this might be the big one. Perhaps those who have survived a big one are a bit more apprehensive. Personally, I’d rather be prepared and not need supplies than to be caught off guard.

Here in Virginia Beach, we stocked up on supplies such as canned goods, water, and batteries. We removed garden flags, wind chimes, and other small outdoor items and secured our trashcans. We sought refuge inside and prayed our tall pines would not fail us.

Compared to Isabelle and Irene, Sandy has been much gentler with us. Rain and wind have come in bands. Winds escalated from mere whispers to occasional screeching howls through the night. Rain has been a constant pitter patter with some downright downpours. Tree debris scatters across the yard and water threatens to take over the road and yard, but we remain safe. Other areas have not been as fortunate.

Today we have the resources to track these storms better than we did forty plus years ago. I was barely six when hurricane Camille hit my hometown of Nelson County, Virginia. We were not prepared. But even in the lack of preparation and in the face of disaster, communities pull together. Whenever hurricanes loom in the near distance I am reminded of this. Every hurricane season I remember Camille. I am reminded that hurricanes don’t only affect coastal regions. Though I’ve made peace with storm memories I still rely on faith to get us through hurricane season.

I heard this morning a friend had to abandon ship. Thank God he has been rescued. Two of his shipmates are still missing. I ask for your prayers and positive thoughts for these individuals and others who are caught in the turmoil.

So as I ride out the storm in the safety of my home, I think of those not as fortunate and pray for those within the path.

This link has more pictures and information about The Bounty.

37 thoughts on “Just Another Storm, Or Is It?

  1. Suzicate, this is just awful. I really hope you and yours stay safe. I too believe in being prepared. We had the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake that did a lot of damage and we went without power for about a week. It was a scary time. I’m glad we were able to help neighbors who were not as well prepared as we were. My thoughts and prayers are with you and the other people on the East Coast.

  2. I’m glad you’re faring well so far. I remember the news stories of Camille, but don’t recall it doing much damage where we were in NC. And I’m glad your friend was rescued. The location of the HMS Bounty replica puzzled me, and it’s assumed loss is very sad.

  3. I wasn’t too panicked by your picture, because I know you aren’t seeing blue skies yet. But what a shot!

    I’ve been thinking of you as the story heads this way. I didn’t know just where you live, but your post a couple of days ago was the first I’d heard of Sandy’s approach. Glad you are okay and still have power to check in with all your readers and fans.

    It’s heading our way up in southwest PA, but probably won’t be too awful.

    Stay dry and safe!

  4. “Rain and wind have come in bands. Winds escalated from mere whispers to occasional screeching howls through the night. Rain has been a constant pitter patter with some downright downpours.”

    It’s the same here, Suzi! And also, the temperature is dropping fast so it’s getting VERY cold. I heard that parts of the east coast could also experience SNOW.

    Stay safe and dry, my friend. Sending you much “good energy”…

    (((((( You ))))))

    X

  5. You popped into my mind earlier today. I had a feeling that you might post something about the hurricane. My parents and brother are in Norfolk and Virginia Beach, too, and have given me updates.

    I’m close to Richmond. We’ll probably experience our peak soon. We’re believing God for safety and no destruction.

    I heard a little about the Bounty situation. Those pictures on your links are sad.

    • Thank you. We are high enough we usually don’t flood though the street does and parts of the yard are water logged. Our fear is usually wind damage as we have lots of tall pines. Only a few small limb and one large one downed….we fared well. People close to the beach had more damage.

  6. Dirt Man will have to tell us the story sometime, of what his grandfather did, rebuild? Linn saw transformers blow toward Pembroke when he got home. Do you still have power?

  7. That’s a crazy picture! I couldn’t imagine finding my house turned on its side. I’m glad Sandy has been gentler than other storms. I hope the folks north of you will be able to say the same thing.

  8. So glad to hear you and your family remained safe. I called a friend this morning — she lives in Virginia, too — and she assured me she’s fine. It seems I have several family members and friends along the Eastern Coast, and I’m praying for all of their safety! Hurricanes and storms as big as Sandy certainly challenge us and call us to preparedness, don’t they?

  9. It is good news that you did not suffer huge losses. Fortunately, that is the case of those close to me on the eastern side of the country – a huge sigh of relief! For those in the northern coastal areas, the news was not so kind and I fear it will be a long time recovering.

Leave a Reply

