A Shift In The Drift

 

Ruby, amber, olive, sienna, and tangerine foliage flutter through the air like colorful butterflies; I breathe in the fresh winds of autumn as it gives me a sense of freedom when walking through the woods.  When the leaves and pine needles whirl about in my own yard, I don’t feel the same exhilaration. I am quickly weighed down with thoughts of yard work.  Yesterday afternoon amid mowing, blowing, raking, and bagging I found myself racing against the sun. The task quickly became a burden. Fortunately, God knows when it is necessary for me to shift my perspective. I found gratitude within the chore before me. In this suffering economy, I am gifted to own a home with a yard. Lawn maintenance is but a small price to pay for the abundance of life’s rewards. I centered myself and created comfort in this tiring yet simple process. What a difference a small shift in the drift can make…we have the power to turn drudgeries into blessings. Do you find yourself dreading house or yard work? What shift in perspective has given you appreciation?

20 thoughts on “A Shift In The Drift

  1. My thoughts were just racing in all I need to do. Clean, poop scoop the yard, water outside plants, get pics uploaded from the weekend, finish laundry…….of course, I can’t do any of that because I am working til 6pm. And by then, I’ll be too tired. It’s a vicious cycle. And I do have to ask God to calm my anxieties and just let me live in the moment knowing I will get it all done in due time. I am grateful as you are. We are very lucky. Still stunned by the color of your leaves.

  2. “Ruby, amber, olive, sienna, and tangerine foliage flutter through the air like colorful butterflies; ”

    Suzi, I love how you said that. What a beautiful visual!

    “What a difference a small shift in the drift can make…we have the power to turn drudgeries into blessings.”

    You said it, my friend. And bless you for your perspective.

    I do the same thing whenever I’m feeling anxious, frustrated or start taking my life for granted.

    Counting my blessing.

    Great post!

    X

  3. I love this shift in perspective! Yes, we certainly need to remind ourselves of our blessings every day. The fact that you have good health to do yard work is also a blessing, you know.

  4. That’s a lovely description of those colours and I can almost smell the pines in the woodlands SuziCate. I’m going to shift the drift and be glad to go and clean the bathroom that’s so small it won’t take long. We are lucky to have a blogger like you to remind us:))

  5. Shifts in perspective are healthy. I avoid yard work. I don’t like it and never have…luckily our desert landscape is low-maintenance. I most often shift my perspective when I find myself complaining about work.

  6. Yard maintenance is such a giggle. One labours mightily to remove all the leaves which would form a lovely mulch for the winter. Then, come summer, one has to apply fertilizer to the poor starved lawn.
    I have never had the fun of jumping into a pile of leaves. Deprived childhood.

  7. Your leaves are so pretty, many varied hues. It doesn’t take long to realize many people would trade places with me–and to focus on my blessings and be thankful.

Leave a Reply

