An Autumn Dance

You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills will burst into song before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands. ~Isaiah 55:12

Acorns sun within a nest of Oak leaves. If the squirrels don’t get them first, they will loosen their grip and ping to the ground.

From green to rust, will all shades between, dew covered leaves glisten in the morning light.

Lemoned leaves upturn and shimmer beneath blue skies.

Orange and scarlet pop through the mustard and avocado hues.

These trees are truly a palette of Autumn delight. I love the way the green, yellow, and orange blend into a burst of crimson.

What a beautiful view from this mountain cabin. The air is crisp outside with a warm cozy wood fire burning inside. Smoke rises and drifts to blend into the colors of Fall

The ground is almost as gorgeous as the limbs waving in the air.

The trees create an Autumn rainbow when you look skyward.

The mountains blaze in the afternoon sun.

The mountains jump out in living  and dying color.

The colors reflect and brighten the water. Were it not for a chill in the air, one might take it as an invitation for a dip.

Who knows what beauty the road or bridge will lead one to….

The beauty of Autumn in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia is a soothing deep comfort, especially to those of us who call this place home.

38 thoughts on “An Autumn Dance

  1. It’s so beautiful here, too. Red, Gold and Amber leaves everywhere, green foothills, and then snow-capped mountains behind them. It doesn’t even look real. Makes me sad, though, because snow is coming our way this week. But “nothing Gold can stay,” right?

  2. Suzi, this post put a HUGE smile on my face and heart, because this is my favorite time of the year and your images are proof of why.

    Stunning, and I mean STUNNING photos!!!

    “These trees are truly a palette of Autumn delight. I love the way the green, yellow, and orange blend into a burst of crimson.”

    Meeeeee too! I love that photo of the mountain cabin with smoke coming out of the wood fire burning.

    A woman I work with is originally from Virginia, and she just came back from a week visiting her family there. She said the fall foliage was spectacular!

    Thanks for sharing the beauty of this magnificent season, my friend. Really enjoyed!

    Have a marvi Monday…..X

  3. I was hoping you’d post some Autumn photos from your part of the country! Soooo lovely! I love the bridge in the last one. Looks so inviting. Hope you are doing well, my friend. I was beginning to wonder if everything was ok.

  4. What a gorgeous Fall you’re having, finally! I especially love the inviting look of the water and the slide. I remember seeing the Blue Ridge Mountains when I was little, but I don’t remember them looking anywhere near this beautiful — thanks for spotlighting them!

  5. I miss autumn in its blazing color. Where I am now the colors are muted, but at least there is a season to see and admire. Thanks for the photos so rich in the season’s flaming paint. Blessings to you, Suzicate…

Leave a Reply

