When The Cairn Almost Topples

My waters seem to be running swiftly and deeply.

Some days I don’t feel like I can touch bottom or keep my head above water.

I am usually the cairn maintaining balance and pointing the way.

Lately I’ve been teetering and feel like I’m losing my way.

I know the way, but doubt blocks its entrance.

Doubt’s cohort is fear.

I don’t like these intruders in my life.

They interrupt my sleep, disturb my peace, and rob me of my now.

I’m handing them over. And this time I’m not taking them back.

Though I know I cannot control areas which do not belong to me,

I refuse to relinquish power over my own thoughts.

I will rest in Him who comforts me.

My chest is no longer tight and I’m breathing.

In. Out. In. Out. Just breathing for now.

32 thoughts on “When The Cairn Almost Topples

  1. Okay, first I have to say….faaaaaabulous photo, Suzi!

    What a GREAT image!

    “I’m handing them over. And this time I’m not taking them back.

    Though I know I cannot control areas which do not belong to me,

    I refuse to relinquish power over my own thoughts.

    I will rest in Him who comforts me.”

    You GO, girl! That’s one of the most powerful things we can do for ourselves as we go through challenges.

    And it’s so ironic you posted this today, because another one of my blogging friends posted something very similar to this.

    Sending ya a BIG hug….

    (((((( You )))))

    X

  2. It is tough to stand tall like a cairn when the waters are so rough. I realized I let someone steal my joy recently. I’m backtracking, but still moving forward. It’s all we can do. Beautiful image.

  3. That picture is awesome! I agree with your thoughts here as well. My favorite: “Though I know I cannot control areas which do not belong to me,I refuse to relinquish power over my own thoughts.”

    Our reactions determine whether we will find peace or turmoil. I hope you find your peace, Suzicate.

  4. Beautiful words and image. When we have a major earthquake shake up our lives, I think we are sometimes unprepared at the multitude of aftershocks that keep coming and causing anxiety. I want you to be in your most peaceful place and you will be I’m sure.

  5. I think that’s what they mean when they advise, Let go and Let God! Doubt, worry, and fear are poor substitutes for calm, peace, and loving acceptance, aren’t they?

  6. Beautiful post .. I love your words, life has been that way for me recently, too. Cairns with a strong, sturdy foundation can withstand big waves … I sense you have a very strong foundation.

Leave a Reply

