Of Blooms And Berries

I hope you will go out and let stories happen to you, and that you will work them, water them with your blood and tears and laughter till they bloom, till you yourself burst into bloom. ~ Clarissa Pinkola Estes

Spring blooms of the Pyracantha bush

What a beautiful thing it is to blossom; yet an even greater thing to bear fruit.

When we bloom, we announce our arrival to the world.

When we produce results, we show the world we are ready for action. We help make the world go round.

Experience is the key element that separates a dainty flower and a bold berry. One is showy; pretty and fragrant. The other has substance.

Every bud holds hope. The bloom is the birth of a dream, and the fruit its delivery.

We each hold within us a bud of hope, and we each have the power to assure our own delivery.

Go ahead and bloom, but don’t stop there. Be bold, bright, and brilliant. Set the world on fire.

Winter berries of the Pyracantha bush

Expose yourself to the possibility of doing something remarkable. ~ C. Cunningham

Living in the Gap

April 26, 2012 – Three Amigos (and one little irritant!)

One squirrel is tightly wrapped around the “baffle” bird feeder” shaking his feather duster to the delight of a squirrel watching from atop the fence and one awaiting the grub on the ground. They scurry, scuttle, and scrounge, devouring all they can stuff into their mouths. Along comes Wylie full force to rescue the bird feeder (or is she really just trying to catch one of those rascals?)…One squirrel zips up the cedar tree, one beneath the fence to the neighbor’s yard, and the other climbs the fence and perches himself on the shed to watch for Wylie’s departure. Baffled by the feeder? Not at all; they’ve got this thing figured out. It’s simply a swinging smorgasbord.

Living in the Gap

April 27, 2012 – Better than anything (or is it?)

I’ve often made a “Better Than Sex” cake, and decide this will make an excellent dessert for the weekend. I find an easier recipe in a cookbook using a cake and pudding mix except it’s called “Better Than Anything” cake. Maybe it’s a recipe for the politically correct? Anyway, I decide to go with the time saver. The mixer whirls and whips combining chocolate powders, eggs, oil, and sour cream. I pour it into the prepared pan and attempt to place it in my preheated oven when I see the chopped pecans and chocolate chips staring back at me from the counter. Oops! What’s a lady in a time crunch to do? Well, I stir those babies right into the mix in the pan anyway! Now I sit here waiting, sniffing (and salivating, I might add,) as chocolate permeates the house. Hmmmm, will it still be better than anything?

29 thoughts on “Of Blooms And Berries

  1. Beautifully written! We had a pyracantha bush as a kid, and the smell of the blossoms defined springtime! And the birds always ate the berries and it got them drunk!

  2. What an inspiring post, Suzi!

    “Experience is the key element that separates a dainty flower and a bold berry. One is showy; pretty and fragrant. The other has substance.

    Every bud holds hope. The bloom is the birth of a dream, and the fruit its delivery.”

    LOOOOOOOOOVED that!

    I also loved the visual you shared about the two squirrels…

    One squirrel is tightly wrapped around the “baffle” bird feeder” shaking his feather duster to the delight of a squirrel watching from atop the fence and one awaiting the grub on the ground.”

    Feather duster…..brilliant!

    And I gotta try that “Better Than Sex” cake. It sounds YUMMY!

    Have a stupendous weekend, my friend…..X

    • I’ve just got to figure out a way to get my delightful squirrels to stick to their own food and let the birds enjoy theirs.
      You really gotta’ try that cake, Ron! Hope your weekend is wonderful.

  3. I’m good with life being an adventure story…with parts of it as a romance novel… but I’d like to pass on the horror story genre. :-) “Will it still be better than anything?” It has chocolate in it, right? ‘Nuff said.

  4. Love your descriptive paragraph about the squirrels … I can picture it so clearly. The similar thing takes place almost every day (except I am the one running out there to save the feeder for the birds ;-))

    • I keep knocking on windows and running across the yard after them. I’ve even bought them peanuts to go along with their corn feeders and yet they continue to go after the bird seed. They’ve gone from emptying a feeder in four days to a day and a half! I think they’re telling their friends…

  5. More beautiful words.

    I must say I have never had a Better than Sex cake but by the sounds of it it must be very good. Is it similar to Sex in a Pan? because that I’ve had.. :)

Leave a Reply

