Dibble. Dabble. Dop.

Dibble. Dabble. Dop. I tote my camera in one hand and a trowel in the other. I snap a shot here and dig a little there. I head in and bang away at the computer or I grab some beads, fabric and needle, or hook and yarn. All around me life is in bloom, inside and out, and I want to capture it all in one form of expression or another.

Much of my life I’ve been accused of having my heads in the clouds. I’ve been asked why I don’t finish all the projects I start. I enjoy multitasking in creative endeavors. I find that one creative venue feeds another. Others most likely see me as a creative mess. In my favor, I must say that I can put a way a project and pick it back up years later and continue. Of course, this means I have to store all this “stuff”. Needless to say, I am too embarrassed to admit how many unfinished novels and quilts I have stashed away.

It has been suggested that I might want to stick with one hobby. They say one can actually practice a talent and master it – I prefer to dibble and dabble in many different mediums. I do what I do for the pure enjoyment of it. If by some chance I publish the next best seller or become a famous fiber artist, it will be purely accidental.

I honestly wish I could do one thing really well, but one thing is so boring and confining. I need to stretch my imagination and creative limits. I confess I suffer from creative ADD… that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it!

Playing with beads.

Quilt I made for my sister.

Purse I made for one of my nieces.

A photograph I'm particularly thrilled with how it turned out.

Living in the Gap

April 6, 2012 – Hostile atmosphere

Today is gloomy. The air is thick and cool yet there is no mist. Squirrels drop cones from the tall pines. Several bees buzz over my head and birds chatter furiously in the trees. Blue jays chase crows and dogs bark at other dogs. Car horns honk and sirens blast along the boulevard. Can we blame the lack of sunshine for the busy aggression of the day?

42 thoughts on “Dibble. Dabble. Dop.

  1. Hmmm. I think you do a lot of things really well. The quilts you have shown on your blog are creative and beautiful. Anyone would be proud to have one.

    The pictures you take are breathtaking.

    You make that jewelery? Lovely.

    I love that purse. Looks pretty well make to me.

    You gardening.

    And you write wonderfully. I would say you do a lot of things really well. I think the fact that you DO them is amazing. I’ve never done the things you do. A lot of people haven’t. My vote is that you keep dibbling and dabbling and CREATING and you are getting more done that many of us!

    • I made those pursed in different colors for my nieces and they loved them. I still have one I didn’t complete…My sewing machine hung up and I have to rip apart a section and redo it…one of those things I cast off until much later.

    • I made those pursed in different colors for my nieces and they loved them. I still have one I didn’t complete…My sewing machine hung up and I have to rip apart a section and redo it…one of those things I cast off until much later.

  2. Dibble, Dabble …. looks like a lot of creative fun to me. I wish I had some free time to join you (maybe when school is out). I have quilting project, stain glass, and photo projects all stored away waiting for me. I start and then school starts and they get packed away.

    Just an idea … you could put it altogether … write a dibble dabble book with creative how to’s with your photos.

    • Stain glass is the one medium I am just itching to try! I wish I had a friend here will to do it with me…apparently it cuts your hands up a bit; but I still want to give it a go! I think it would be much like art quilting except with glass.

  3. Oh, Suzi, I have the same problem!! I’m a great starter-of-projects, but I’m having to really WORK on the finishing part. I try telling myself that as long as I’m being creative, it doesn’t much matter where the creative energies are focused. Wonder if that’s true? I do think I’d get bored if I could only do one thing. Maybe!

  4. It appears to me that your dibble dabble has produced some beautiful items, so it obviously is not a bad thing. I’ve always felt I go from obsession to obsession – past obsessions have been quilting, digital scrapbooking, digital painting – but you’ve made me realize that I do much the same as you – dibble dabble in obsessions, the current ones being knitting, playing with beads (like you do), blogging, photography, reading – no wonder I have no time for housework!

  5. “It has been suggested that I might want to stick with one hobby. They say one can actually practice a talent and master it – I prefer to dibble and dabble in many different mediums. I do what I do for the pure enjoyment of it. If by some chance I publish the next best seller or become a famous fiber artist, it will be purely accidental.”

    You and are sooooooooo much a like, Suzi, because I feel the same way. I dibble dabble in MANY things because I enjoy learning new stuff. It’s the ‘process’ of learning that enjoy most. I think most creative people are the same.

    But I have to say, everything you share in the way of your many talents, as far as I’m concerned, you HAVE mastered them. You simply enjoy following your instincts, and moving on to some thing else.

    And to me, what does ‘mastering’ something really mean? Mastering something means doing it until you feel you’ve learned it, and then moving on to something else.

    Btw, AWESOME jewelry! Beautiful bead work, my friend!

    Have a wonderful weekend, and HAPPY EASTER to you and your family!

    X

    • I like your definition of mastering something! I don’t think I learn all I can before I move on, but I do enjoy the time there! Happy Easter to you, Ron.

  6. I prefer the term “dilettante.” It sounds so much more refined than “I get bored and wander around finding other crap to interest me.” You’re just a dilettante, darling.

  7. Why not think of yourself as a creative “Renaissance Woman?” I think to explore a variety of creative activities is heavenly. Why shouldn’t we? And you’re good at all of them!

  8. I think you do lots of things well; many facets of your creativity. I like that jewelry you made – it’s so pretty!

    I have trouble staying focused on one thing too. Right now it’s writing and taking pictures. Next week? Don’t know!

    • I go from one thing to another…I just can’t seem to help it! Today I’ll be painting the shed, tomorrow cooking, Monday gardening, and sewing and reading in between!

    • I go from one thing to another…I just can’t seem to help it! Today I’ll be painting the shed, tomorrow cooking, Monday gardening, and sewing and reading in between!

  9. I agree with what they all said. You are very creative and very talented in many mediums and if that is dibble dabbling then you need to keep it up. I was just wondering… is you are both OCD AND ADD does that make you AC DC? LOL Whatever it makes you… it’s a wonderful combination! I with i had that much talent and creativity.

  10. From where I’m sitting, you do at least a couple of things really well, Suzi – I’ve just read one and seen the pictures! For me enjoyment of a project has to drive it. If I ‘try’ to finish something that I no longer find inspiring, it becomes a chore. And I may well come back to it in the future – or not. Variety is the spice of life, they say! Enjoy 🙂

    • I didn’t do well at knitting either. I’m sure there are lots of things you’re good at…it’s a matter of finding the right creative outlet. I must say writing seems to be your bag!

Leave a Reply

