Cherry Blossoms; Spring’s Delight

My heart that was rapt away by the wild cherry blossoms — will it return to my body when they scatter? ~Kotomichi

(The first three photographs were taken up close after a rain storm. The next three photographs were taken of another tree on a different day.)

The sun peaks through the clouds providing a spotlight on nature’s elegance.

A mixture of sweet cherry and fresh rain scent the air with exotic perfume.

Rain drops glisten upon the petal like a diamond necklace.

The remaining petals glow as fresh and pink as an early morning sky.

A cluster of rose quartz suspends from the air.

Innocent beauty dazzles the eyes and tantalizes the senses.

Find the seed at the bottom of your heart and bring forth a flower. ~Shigenori Kameoka

Living in the Gap

March 27, 2012 – Garden Mishap

I scoop dirt into the pot and gently space each marigold. Lightly, I sprinkle the water, sopping the soil as it runs off the yellow and gold petals. I turn off the water and trip over the hose…flipping the pot upside down! I want to cry; instead I curse under my breath. Marigolds lay limp beneath the mud. Gingerly I pick up a stem at a time; fortunately the blooms are intact. I pack the pot with the drenched soil and floppy flowers. I lightly rinse the stems and blooms and place the pot in the sun to dry. Silently, I say a prayer for survival for my golden beauties.

30 thoughts on “Cherry Blossoms; Spring’s Delight

  1. Suzi, what gorgeous photos!!!!

    The close ups are AMAZING! You captured their delicacy brilliantly.

    “Rain drops glisten upon the petal like a diamond necklace.”

    LOVE THAT!

    I also loved your Living in the Gap. Hope your golden beauties survive. I bet they will….x

    Have a great day, my friend!
    X

  2. Oh, oh, oh, how unbearably beautiful, suzicate. My brother in Springfield told me they were expecting frost last night, and that all the blooms would be gone. I hope that wasn’t so. Ours have yet to arrive here, so we can spread cherry blossom season out for months across the country.

    • I wish the weather had cooperated with you this weekend so you could’ve gotten your shots. You’re a much better gardener than me…don’t know about the clumsy part though!

  3. Ahh … Spring blooms. I like the shimmering rain drops on the third picture. Thanks for sharing your flowers … it will be awhile before I see any, the temperatures are back to normal. No snow, but we are hovering about 30-40 during the day and it is freezing at night again.

Leave a Reply

