Better Than Snow!

“Love consists in sharing what one has and what one is with those one loves.”  ~David Fleming, SJ

Pure.Crystalclear.

Warm and illuminating.

No mistake in feeling the light that fills our hearts.

While it does originate in the heart,

its warmth spreads through the body and results in a smile on your face.

You become grateful for all life offers

and extend your graciousness in action to others.

It becomes a snowball fight of kindness and generosity.

Don’t be afraid to throw the first snowball.

Let someone go ahead in the checkout line.

Offer to babysit for a friend.

Bake a cake or loaf of bread for a neighbor.

Have something you don’t need? Pass it on to someone who does.

Call or visit someone you haven’t seen in a while.

Send a card or flowers to someone far a way.

Loan a book. Invite someone to a movie.

Be a good friend. Be a helpful neighbor.

Most of all just be there; be available to others.

Get the ball rolling…give a hug, a smile, or a simple wave.

When it’s returned, savor the moment. Remember how good it feels.

Don’t hold your love inside; let it touch everyone you meet.

Living in the Gap

March 23, 2012 – Creepy Crawlies

I lift the rock, exposing the earth.Worms, grubs, and bugs scurry for cover. I uncover the ground stone by stone, continuing to disrupt nature previously hidden from my eyes. No sounds emerge from the creepy crawlies though the neighborhood is alive with the noise of lawn mowers, weed eaters, laughing kids, barking dogs, and tweeting birds. I feel a prick, like and insect bite, right above my glove. A red ant is scurrying around my wrist. I look down to see fire ants darting over the stone and swarming in the soil. I look closer to see the architecture of their tunnels through the ground of my flowerbed.

26 thoughts on “Better Than Snow!

    • Exactly…those fire ants are good workers, but wouldn’t say they’re adding any joy to my yard! Hopefully, we safely got rid of them. Did a lot of research on it…

  1. First, your photo is breathtaking, Suzi!

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What a stunning macro. The soft pastel colors give the photo such a beautiful ethereal feel to it.

    Angelic!

    And I love this……..

    “It becomes a snowball fight of kindness and generosity.

    Don’t be afraid to throw the first snowball.”

    Brilliant!

    Enjoyed your Living in the Gap. I could feel those creepy crawlies – HA!

    Have a beautiful weekend, my friend…..X

  2. This little Yankee got her first experience with fire ants years ago when she accidentally stepped into a huge pile of them. They promptly did their biting thing all over my little legs — I can still feel the agony. A lesson well learned and never forgotten! Glad you were smart enough to avoid them!

  3. You’ve reminded us of the great, yet simple, acts of kindness. I have written a couple of letters this week and really felt good doing so. You’ve inspired me to continue.

  4. It’s always nice to pay it forward with random acts of kindness. Super great words to begin the week. (Yes, I’m late reading this on Monday!)

Leave a Reply

