Flying High

Please excuse quality, taken from hospital window with a cell phone.

Living in the Gap

The red and white stripes flutter and flap in the wind. As it catches a gust it swells from the bottom, filling out the stars on the blue square only to cave in and lift again.  The top corner turns down, folds, and drops as if giving up. Then it whips into the air refusing to surrender. Strong, proud, unwavering, it stands its ground. It rolls and ripples like the ocean and catches flight in the sky though it goes nowhere since it’s tethered to the pole. I think of how our emotions sail, flutter, and fall…yet still we return to the constant within us.

9 thoughts on “Flying High

  1. “I think of how our emotions sail, flutter, and fall…yet still we return to the constant within us.”

    Brilliant analogy, Suzi!

    Great photo! Love the rain drops on the glass!

    Happy Sunday, my friend……X

    • The pic is poor quality. I took it from the hospital window with my cell phone! Then yesterday I watched a flag as I was going through a drive through and remembered I’d taken that photo.

Leave a Reply

