Out Of Season Or In Perfect Time?

Whatever you do, do it with all your might. Work at it, early and late, in season and out of season, not leaving a stone unturned, and never deferring for a single hour that which can be done just as well now. ~P. T. Barnum

Dirt Man and I were walking through one of our city parks a few weeks ago and came across these lovely trees. Perhaps they are simply trees in which we are unfamiliar or possibly due to the unusually warm temperatures here they are blooming out of season. Often we do things seasonally as there seems to be a time in which we do all things.

We tend to forget the beauty in the element of surprise. We were surprised at the beauty of these flowers in midwinter.

We can choose to be beautiful anytime. We don’t need a season to be kind. Kindness is carried within the heart all year long. We need only reach out to others to share our generosity.

Compassion runs deep and stretches far and wide. Jump on the train and ride with us. See who you can touch, in or off season.

Don’t let the time of year of people in your life keep your from being your beautiful self.

Dare yourself to bloom in the dead of winter.

Break out of your bud. Flourish.

Be the flower out of season.

Be beautiful. Be yourself.

Living in the Gap

February 23, 2012 – The reality of pain

“It’s really big.” He says this of the herniated disc and goes on to mention removing it and fusing vertebrae. Then there is the mention of screws, plates, and a rod. He gives us the ins and outs of surgery (possibly five hours in the OR) and post op mobility. I can’t help but stare at the films. I had no idea it was that bad. I knew he was in pain, but now I realize he has just kept on going when he most likely wanted to throw in the towel. I don’t like knowing he is in pain. Dirt Man seems relatively calm, but I feel his anxiety as the lines furrow across his forehead. I’m not sure whether to be at peace or worried by the excitement of the young skilled surgeon. Instead of being either, I place it in God’s hands.

****Dirt Man is scheduled for back surgery on Tuesday. I’m sure the next few weeks will be busy and draining. As I often do in life, I’ll be flying back the seat of my pants…will post if and when I can. I might have lots of time, and then again I might have little…will promise to get back to my blog when I can.

42 thoughts on “Out Of Season Or In Perfect Time?

  1. Pretty blossoms, indeed. Of course, in trees as in life, it is not good thinking to bloom in areas of heavy snow or frost, but otherwise.

    I hope the time flies by and that the op will be totally successful. I know from a little one I had recently myself that this is the hardest time – waiting for it. Once it is done, and one starts towards recovery, is actually much better.

  2. Those blossoms are gorgeous.

    I hope Dirt Man’s surgery goes well and that he makes a full recovery. Any kind of surgery is scary if you think about all the ‘what ifs’. God’s hands is exactly where it should be (not a burden on either one of you.)

  3. Those are ‘tulip magnolias’ and they are a tad early in blooming this year, but they are the first tree in our yard to bloom every year – usually sometime towards the end of February, middle of March. Most years it gets pinched by a late frost, but it is glorious when it blooms.

  4. Gorgeous magnolia photos, Suzi!

    They’re breathtaking!

    I loved this…..

    “Compassion runs deep and stretches far and wide. Jump on the train and ride with us. See who you can touch, in or off season.”

    Sending you and Dirt Man prayers and energy.

    ((((( You + Dirt Man )))))

    Take all the time you need to take care, and know that we’ll be here when you return.

    X ya, my friend!

  5. I’m sorry that your “hiking partner” is in pain.

    I hope that the surgery goes smoothly . . . so that you and Dirt Man and Wylie can get back on the road again.

    Peace!

  6. I love magolias – I keep thinking about planting one here, but I suspect it would always get bitten by frost and never bloom.
    I am so sorry to hear that Dirt Man has to have back surgery; my thoughts and prayers will be with you and with his future without pain.

  7. Oh my! That is a gorgeous shot of a magnolia bud. I hope winter is finished in your parts or there won’t be much of these to enjoy when spring officially arrives!

    I hope everything goes well for Dirt Man…and for you!

  8. I’m thinking of your and Dirt Man. I hope he won’t have to be in the hospital too long following the surgery. It will all be very draining on you too. But I hope you will let us know how things are going.

    I hate looking at the visual evidence of things gone awry on a loved one’s body.

    I hope the surgery is a great success and that Dirt Man will be relieved of pain once he recovers.

    • Thank you so much. I know you guys have been going through this surgical recuperation now for a couple of weeks. I will try to keep myself as rested as I can under the circumstance…

  9. So beautiful! The pictures AND the words. It’s a Japanese Magnolia tree, and we have one in our front yard in full bloom here. But in CA, it IS the right season. I’ll be thinking about Dirtman.

Leave a Reply

