Simply Satisfied

“The ability to simplify means to eliminate the unnecessary so that the necessary may speak.” ~Hans Hofmann 

I am a gatherer, a collector of sorts.

I hold onto things…not because I need them, but because they hold memories.

I sometimes find it difficult to let go. It’s almost as if I feel I am committing an act of betrayal if I pass on something given to me.

Soon my life becomes complicated, cluttered. I feel like the walls are closing in on me. I can’t find clarity. Then I know it’s time once again to simplify, not that this means I will rid my home of all unnecessary items. Face it; we all have things that are not crucial. However, they make our lives easier or more enjoyable.

When I say I want to get back to the basics of what is important, it’s up to me to decide what goes and what I keep. What’s important to me might not be important to someone else. For instance, I really enjoy my French press, and my coffee maker has been sitting in the closet for several years. Maybe it’s time to donate it. My problem is that once I chuck something I find a need for it. Does that ever happen to you? Have you ever found yourself buying something you just gave away?

Slowly, I’ve been cleaning closets. I’ve trashed worn linens and purchased new ones. I’ve thrown out old makeup. I’ve reorganized shelves. I have a long way to go as I’ve only just begun. I’m sure by the time I think I’m finished; it will be time to start the process over. Still, it’s becoming clearer why I keep the things I do. Maybe this is more of a soul cleansing than a house cleaning, after all. I have learned that letting go isn’t the end of the world.

I don’t live lavishly, but I do have more than enough. I also doubt I’ll ever be completely clutter-free, yet I am content.

****Living in the Gap

February 12, 2012 – I am NOT a dog, REALLY I’m not!

My friend, Karal, and I are on our way to our local Grape and Gourmet for a wine tasting event, and we are stopped at a traffic light. She’s driving, and I’m yapping away in the passenger seat. Her two beagles are enjoyed the ride from the back. As we are sitting there, the sunlight catches the green stone in her dangly earring. I reach over and touch her earring and ask her what the lovely stone is called…however before I get the question out, she starts rubbing my hand/jacket sleeve (I should mention here that I have on a plush jacket that probably feels like dog fur.) and says, “oh, I love you too, baby.” I jerk my hand away, and we both start laughing at the same time because we both know she thought I was one of her dogs nuzzling up to her from the back seat! Needless, to say after a few wine samples it becomes even funnier! In case you’re wondering, she didn’t know the stone in her earring either. It’s not emerald, darker than peridot, but not consistent with jade…any guesses?

35 thoughts on “Simply Satisfied

  1. I have too much clutter. I have often gotten rid of something then needed it so I tend to not get rid of anything. 🙂

    I love the opening quote.

    And the “Living in the Gap” story is HILARIOUS! I love it!

  2. I can definitely relate to this post. I’ve saved many things over the years because of the memories attached to it. Not easy things to get rid of and yet we all reach point when we begin to realize that something must go..

  3. I’ve been doing the same thing! Cleaning, sorting and donating. The problem is that after my mothers passing, my dad is doing the same and somehow it gets sorted by him only to get passed onto me, which now I have many many many bins of stuff that ALSO needs to be processed before passing THAT on.
    My stuff is easy. My moms, however, is not. I think I may end up keeping most of that. I’ll jsut make room! 🙂

  4. I so enjoyed reading this post, Suzi, because many years back when I was moving from one apartment to the next; deciding what stuff to take and what stuff not to take, I began the process of simplifying my life. Over the years, I had been collecting and holding on to things that I wasn’t even using anymore, and like you, it was more about the holding onto the memories. I finally realized that I really didn’t need the things to keep the memories alive because they were already etched within my soul. Therefore, I passed the items forward.

    LOVED your Living in the Gap. HYSTERICAL!!!!!

    Have a great Sunday, my friend…..X

  5. Time for me to go through cupboards and closets again too. Too much stuff. But, like you, there is the fear that once I get rid of it, I’ll need it. There is also the attachment to some of the “things” on display that mostly just collect dust. It takes waking up in a ruthless mode with no sentimentality to be effective at simplifying for me.

  6. My dear Mom used to have more clutter in her small apartment than I could stand. She had about 3 extra chairs and tables in her small living room and you could barely walk through without walking into something. At one point, she had 30 or so little figurines on the top of her toilet tank. When she was fairly old and in poor health, I used to go over to clean up her place for her. I would beg her to let me throw out some of her “things” and she was horrified at the thought. Every one of those things meant something to her. I have never had a lot of “little pretties” around and if I find that a couple have snuck in, I get rid of them right away! You can fight your heritage!

  7. I save stuff, too, so I can relate! Most of what I save has special meaning for me, but probably wouldn’t matter much to others. Still, I firmly believe in passing stuff on to the less fortunate — things like linens, appliances, clothing, etc. Only by emptying our vessel can we be re-filled with blessings from above! As for the green stone in your friend’s earrings, I’m thinking tourmaline, aventurine, malachite, moss agate, jasper, something like that.

  8. I let stuff build up, too. I’m at the point again where I’m weeding (or wading) through stuff to get rid of what I don’t use on a regular basis. I can be sentimental, too. I’m getting better, but I used to feel guilty for getting rid of a gift even if I didn’t like it.

    Thanks for the laugh with your ‘gap’ story. I’ve done similar things, too. It can be embarrassing 🙂

  9. It must be a family trait! Remember that closet under the stairs in the “piano room” and how cluttered it was? And the attic? Thank goodness mine is not as easy to access or it would probably look the same way!

    Love the Living in The Gap! You know Karal DOES love you too, baby! 🙂

  10. These items grow and multiply without our eye keeping an objective view. One day I did a purge on my office which is where I spend a lot of my time. (It’s right beside the kitchen! :D) I could not believe how much I recycled. Yet, I’m afraid, there’s not a big difference.

    But I’ve warned friends…gifts can and will be recycled items. It’s a challenge for them, but someone’s got to encourage it!

  11. I LOVE it when I move clutter out of my house, reorganize a drawer or a closet. Doesn’t that just feel refreshing? I have a basement storage room just waiting for me. But I can’t get rid of the Legos–perhaps the old printer could go. . .

Leave a Reply

