A Cloudy Kinda’ Day

A Cloudless plain blue sky is like a flowerless garden. ~ Terri Guillemets

The sky is the daily bread of the eyes. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

There are no rules of architecture for a castle in the clouds. ~G.K. Chesterton

The soul can split the sky in two and let the face of God shine through ~Edna St. Vincent Millay

Living in the Gap

February 5, 2012 – Land of the fairies

Absolutely nothing recharges my batteries better or quicker than being outside. Just plop me down near some water or among the trees. If neither is in available, let me stretch out and watch the clouds. We happened to get all three…oh what joy! The sour scent of sludge greeted us as we neared the river. The soft rustle of the pines and other trees kept us company as we walked the trail. At river’s edge the rustle became more distinct. As I leaned against a holly tree, the rigid barbed leaves tinkled like faint tiny bells. For a minute it was as if we were standing amongst fairies. However, the only “Tinkerbell” visible was our very own and extremely large dog, Wylie!

34 thoughts on “A Cloudy Kinda’ Day

    • I liked the way that one turned out. Dirt Man post processed one of the cloud ones (after I posted them!) and it was incredible, but it takes up so much space to post.

  1. Being a HUGE sky watcher, I so enjoyed this post, Suzi!

    Great shots!

    “The soul can split the sky in two and let the face of God shine through ~Edna St. Vincent Millay”

    Loved that!

    Whenever I look at a beautiful sunset, I think to myself….how can anyone not believe in God?

    Thanks for sharing, Suzi!

    Have a super Sunday…..X

  2. SuziCate, I’m so glad I found your blog through Sharon Lippincott’s latest post! The pictures are breathtaking but the words “are worth a thousand pictures.” You’ve captured the natural beauty around us. Lovely!

  3. Love the pix. I remember a few months ago I wanted to paint the sky, but wanted to get it ”right.” My son said,”Mom, it’s the sky, just paint it,” in that voice children use when their parents are making no sense at all, LOL.
    The sky, the fresh air, frigid or warm, eyeful of natural beauty…all battery rechargers, I agree.
    I am very much enjoying your blog. Thank you for ”putting it out there.”
    ;D

  4. I know exactly how you feel when you are outside enjoying nature. This unusual winter with not much snow and a great mixture of warm and cold has made the woods more alive with sounds this year … I would have loved to here your holly tree.

Leave a Reply

