Fort Monroe, From Formidable Fortress to Public Park

I’m not going to inundate you with information, but I will post some pictures for your viewing pleasure of our latest excursion, the Historic FortMonroe in Phoebus,Virginia.

Fort Monroe, the place where slavery (beginning and end) came full circle and the place where Jefferson Davis was imprisoned, not to mention the protector of the Chesapeake Bay is now a National Monument due to Presidential declaration and is in the process of becoming a National Park. “The park service will manage 325 acres of the 565-acre property, including the largest moated stone fort ever built in the United States. A state entity, Fort Monroe Authority, will oversee the rest.”  http://hamptonroads.com/2011/11/fort-monroe-national-park-be-led-longtime-fan

Howitzer in front of Casemate Museum.

The Lincoln Cannon

Chapel of the Centurion

Ramparts

Cannonballs in front of the Casemate Museum

North Moat Gate

Main Gate Bridge

Saint Mary's Church

Some trees at Fort Monroe are reported to be over 400 years old!

Generals Row

Another view of Casemate

Clock Tower, previous Post Office built in 1898

Historic Chamberlain

Old Point Comfort Lighthouse

Fort Monroe Command Center

Rapid-fire Gun

Battery Irwin

Another view, Battery Irwin

***Due to the length of this photo essay, I will include today’s Living in the Gap with tomorrow’s post.

36 thoughts on “Fort Monroe, From Formidable Fortress to Public Park

  1. Great photos! Looking at the cannon and the cannon balls, it’s hard to imagine the armies dragging those things around the countryside with the only method of transport being on foot or by horseback.

  2. Wonderful photos, Suzi!

    I especially enjoyed the one of the lighthouse. I have this ‘thing’ for lighthouses. To me, they symbolize God. Light and guidance.

    Thank you for sharing this post, my friend. I’m such a history buff, so I really enjoyed this.

    Have a great weekend!

    X

  3. I loved looking at the pictures. It is a little frustrating not to know the history and associations better. I gather that the schooling system there makes sure that everyone has a very good grasp of them indeed.

  4. I am so pleased to have stumbled across your photos of Ft Monroe! While my home is on the other coast, I travel to VA from time to time. I last visited Ft Monroe just 2 days after they had officially closed the fort and lowered the flag for the last time. It was a sad time–not knowing yet that the President would sign and save it. What a lost treasure if he had not done so.
    I have a much loved photo of the light house as well. Would you give me permission to save some of your photos to my iPhotos? Thanks!

    • Ft. Monroe is such a treasure. As long as I’ve lived here, I can’t believe it has taken me this long to visit. Most assuredly, I will return. We took so many pictures, only put a few on my blog. And the hubbys are much better as his are HD photos. You may save some of mine to you iPhotos…enjoy. I found a book online (Barnes & Noble) and they also have it at the Casemate Museum with fabulous old photographs and some intriguing history. It is titles “Images of America Fort Monroe” by Paul S. Morando and David J. Johnson. It is 127 pages with two pics on almost every page…a fabulous find.

Leave a Reply

