The Certainty Of Uncertainty

There are times in life we feel uncertain. Our minds are clouded with worry. Anxiety gnaws at our stomachs and weighs us down. Every moment is spent wondering what is going to happen next. There is no joy in the present moment. It’s all we can do to lift one foot in front of the other. We function on auto pilot, not giving much thought or consideration to our actions.

This kind of worry is unnecessary. It is a waste of our time and energy. Life is, has been, and always will be uncertain, and that is all there is to it. Though we take precautions and make wise decisions, there are things out of our control. We can do every single thing right on our end and the results are not what we want or even expect. We don’t have the ability to see the big picture. This is why we must have faith. We must trust that all will be well in the long run.

The first thing we must do is let go of expectations. Life will not always flow according to our plans. When we stop calculating our own moves and anticipating the moves of others, we are free to live now and allow life to unfold without unreasonable concern for ourselves.

Often we think our decisions are precise and are sure of the outcome only to be wrong. Doubt takes over and we second guess our own actions, motives, and desires. Our hearts can be in the right place and things still not turn out to what we consider our benefit. Sometimes it’s simply a life lesson.

Unfortunately, we don’t always get to pick what we want to study in the school of life. Sometimes the subject picks us. Even when this happens to us, nervousness will not help us get through it. While relinquishing control of the situation at hand does calm our uncertainty, it doesn’t make us any surer of the outcome. The act of letting go will comfort our hearts and ease our minds…thus we are assured we will be fine.

We need to learn to live our lives with a certain amount of uncertainty or at least without expectation and be open to what comes our way. There will always be junctions on the road of life. One way might be shorter and appear more rewarding; however the other might be the scenic route with options you’d never considered. Uncertainty might just send you down an unknown and ultimately gratifying road of life.

If life were lived neatly following an outline, it would take away the freedom of choice, the possibility of opportunity, and the adventure of the unknown. Uncertainty will always remain; but freedom, opportunity, and adventure lead us moment by moment into the future. One could say the certainty of uncertainty fuels the fires of life.

Prompt: Uncertaintyhttp://www.writingthroughlife.com/a-weeks-worth-of-journaling-prompts-uncertainty

January 23, 2012
Living in the Gap – Sweet Simplicity
The mixer hummed as the butter, cream cheese, and sugar gurgled, plopped, and mixed into a lovely white frosting. I slathered it atop the first layer of the red velvet cake, a bit chintzy I might add since I contemplated not having enough to cover the top and sides. The aroma of sugar tantalized my senses as I refrained from salivating in my bowl. The top cake layer bubbled air pockets across the surface. I was sure the icing would peel it away from the base and present itself to be a crumbling red and white polka dot mess of sweetness. Alas, worry has no place in the kitchen…for it is where culinary art is created. Waves and swirls of frosting spread across the red surface to reveal a snowy delight.

35 thoughts on “The Certainty Of Uncertainty

  1. Oh SuziCate, your timing is impeccable. I am sitting in a morass of uncertainty this morning and the only definites I have are that the final decision is mine and only I can make it. I shall have to work at letting go of doubt I think.

  2. So true, life takes you in crazy directions! I do often think things happen for a reason, you may not think so at the time but when all that uncertainty and anxiety passes then you’ll probably be all the stronger for it!

  3. The one thing that is certain is that much is uncertain; the one constant is that everything changes; life is an adventure and can only be lived for going forward with courage and dealing with what comes as it comes. There are no guarantees, although many times I have wished for some.

  4. You’ve shared such a PLETHORA of insight through this post, Suzi!

    And I must agree on everything you’ve said.

    Letting go of worry, expectations, and total control.

    “We need to learn to live our lives with a certain amount of uncertainty or at least without expectation and be open to what comes our way. There will always be junctions on the road of life. One way might be shorter and appear more rewarding; however the other might be the scenic route with options you’d never considered. Uncertainty might just send you down an unknown and ultimately gratifying road of life.”

    Brilliant. And…amen!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend. It’s good to hear stuff like this because it puts things in a much healthier and positive perspective.

    Happy Monday…..X

  5. I was just sitting here worrying about Brown Recluse Spiders, West Nile Disease infected mosquitoes, Birds with Avian Flu, Pigs with Swine Flu, and you know what? I’m not worried anymore. Except about Ebola. But there’s very slim chances of me getting that. Thank you. My anxiety attack is over. But I’m still keeping an eye on trees.

  6. If we’re not careful, Worry can eat away at us, robbing us of all joy. I’ve heard it said that, if any of us knew the burdens others had to carry, we’d never exchange places with them. I believe that’s true. What is called for, in good measure, is Faith. Worry gets us nowhere but steals away our health. Sounds like you have a good antidote in that red velvet cake!

  7. beautifully said. And no matter how much I may at times long for predictability, it is in the moments of uncertainty and discomfort that I grow the most! Letting go, releasing, whether expectations or worry is my watchword this year.
    thank you for your wise gracious words on this day.

  8. I don’t waste time on worry. Yeah, sure I worry a bit, but if there is nothing I can do, then I let it go because it is useless to worry and it is really bad for the body, mind, and spirit.

    I have a very strong faith.

  9. It is certain, however, that uncertainty will be ever present. It is hard for me to live in the now which is the nano second where the past and present intersect. Even the now of just one day is hard to grasp. It may be because as a history teacher I am 3 dimensional in that the past, present and future are apprehended as one inseparable whole of experience
    of my life as well as the whole of humankind from that primal soup to the present.

  10. In addition to releasing expectations, the best thing I have found to deal with the natural anxiety that accompanies uncertainty is a kind of faith in the future — that everything will work out the way it should, even if I don’t know what that is in the moment. I trust that the Universe really is mostly positive in nature and that I can find the silver lining to any apparent cloud. True optimist, I guess, but then that’s what works for me :-).

    • Amber, that is exactly what works for me as well…I’ve only adopted some of these practices in the last year or so, but it has brought a profound peace to my life I’ve never before experienced.

Leave a Reply

