Keeping Sunshine In My Spirit

Living in the Gap

January 22, 2012 – Finding sunshine in the rain

After running errands in the cold drizzling rain I was finally back in the safety and warmth of my own home. I snuggled into the softness of the sofa with the aroma of homemade chicken and dumplings comforting me. Through the window I watched the rain gently fall creating a grey shield through the trees. I listened to the pitter patter of the shower as it tapped upon the roof. The wind swept in from time to time creating a whoosh on each side of the house. I felt enveloped in the house with downpours on three sides. I was secure as I relaxed to the rhythm, a slow steady drumbeat. My breath was even and heartbeat slower than that of the downpour. I slipped into that state of just being. I was settled here in my house, but more than that. I was at ease in my house; my body, my skin. This was one of those times my mind didn’t jerk me out of my spirit, but they were congruent. I could hear the music playing, but it was silent in my home. The music was coming from inside me. I could hear “You are my sunshine, my only sunshine. You make me happy when skies are grey. You’ll never know, dear, how much I love you. Please don’t take my sunshine away….” Yes, we not only make our own sunshine, but we are the sunshine within ourselves…and nobody can take that away.

25 thoughts on “Keeping Sunshine In My Spirit

  1. That song, and the ‘Let the Sunshine In’ (in both versions including the ‘Age of Aquarius’ one) do tend to stick in the mind once entering it! Still, who cares if the message is a good one.

    One would take it that running errands in bad weather conditions is good for you! 🙂

    • Those are the kind of songs I really don’t mind being stuck in my head…however the Oscar Meyer jingle and the Band aid ones drive me crazy when they just keep on and on!

  2. Suzi, this post was so exquisitely expressed!

    I love the way you write….

    ” I slipped into that state of just being. I was settled here in my house, but more than that. I was at ease in my house; my body, my skin.”

    And it’s ironic how you spent your day yesterday, because I spent mine doing the same thing.

    “I snuggled into the softness of the sofa with the aroma of homemade chicken and dumplings comforting me.”

    I also made some chicken noodle soup and spent the day snuggling indoors. We got snow yesterday, and it was so wonderful to watch it fall from my apartment window.

    ” Yes, we not only make our own sunshine, but we are the sunshine within ourselves…and nobody can take that away.”

    Amen!

    Have a great Sunday, my friend!
    X

  3. Lovely and I hear you loud and cozy clear… and yet my head began to hear Ray Charles…

    Don’t let the sun catch you crying,
    crying at my front door
    You done your daddy dirty
    and he don’t want you around here no more
    Don’t let the sun catch you crying,
    lying at my back door
    You done your daddy dirty
    and he don’t want you around here no more
    You can cry, cry , cry
    Yes, and baby, you can wail
    Beat your head on the pavement
    Hey, till the man come,
    land you in jail
    Don’t let the sun catch you crying,
    lying at my back door
    You done your daddy dirty
    and he don’t want you around here no more
    You can cry, cry , cry
    Yes, and baby, you can wail
    Beat your head on the pavement
    Hey, till the man come,
    land you in jail

    I’ve beaten my head on my inner pavement and I’ve done my archetypal daddy dirty, but it turns out he can take it, and that the Great Mother is all the wiser. She knows how to love.

    That old male so-called enlightenment Isaac Newton way don’t want to hear no more bitchin’ and moanin’ nor more economic theory. Time to relax, connect, enjoy, love and come together (but not just in some Kumbaya sort of way, but in a way that gives the Shadow a place at the table, in the circle in the cave at the tip of the living and in some hallway where love’s never been, to tip the hat to L. Cohen.

    I once saw Ray Charles at LAX, and while, obviously, he didn’t see me, he did hear me thank him. And I hope you catch my drift when I thank you too, SuziCate. Namaste & HBDC

    • Ray Charles was the man!
      and if you want to get down to the root of life and language, you’ve got to thank the Blues! I really get into the Blues…I’m talking the really old stuff, roots of all music…

  4. I’ve had a few of those “just being in the moment” moments this week . . . BLISS!

    There is something lovely about being inside on a rainy day . . . and creating our own sunshine from within.

  5. So often we travel the world looking for..? And then we come home and find it in our own home. The safety, warmth and comfort we find in our own home is worth more than anything. Thank you for this lovely post.

Leave a Reply

