On Writing And Life

Last year I bought a book titled A Writer’s Book of Days: A Spirited Companion and Lively Muse for the Writing Life by Judy Reeves. This is by far the best writing book I’ve encountered. It is filled with great advice and anecdotes about the writing life. Not only are there 365 daily writing prompts, but also about five prompts following each monthly section. As you all know I seldom write fiction anymore as I’ve transitioned to memoir and inspiration. I was hesitant that I’d find this book helpful to my writing genre. It has been a pleasant jumpstart as I am a terrible procrastinator. This book can be used to get your writing juices stirred daily or you can fly on your own for characterization or essays.

This is a sample prompt and my take on it.

*January 1 Prompt:Things that enter by the way of silence

Thoughts, emotions, peace

When I am still I am either taken over by thought or emotion. Though it can be overwhelming, I prefer the urge of feeling because it comes from a place within. When sensation comes from the heart and soul it has a place in the body, even if that body hasn’t yet come to understand it. The thing is that what comes from within belongs.

Though I often reflect and sometimes dream, I don’t like it when thought obtrudes my well-being. Thoughts are invasive. They often come out of nowhere and create a life of their own; taking me places I need not visit.  For instance this morning an unpleasant memory came into view. I was reminded of something done to a loved one and my mind was carried away in conversation with this person. I didn’t realize these thoughts had upset my breathing pattern until I caught myself physically shaking my head and taking a deep, cleansing breath. Had I been holding my breath during this thought process? As instantly as the air filled my lungs and diaphragm I was calmed. I waved the disturbing thoughts into a sunbeam of dust particles and watched the dust flounder and fall, settling into the rug.

Letting go of the incident and the pain allowed peace to enter. By far, I think the best thing that enters through silence is peace.

Breathing, connection to spirit, and peace…its birth is in the silence. Breathe deeply. Connect. Relax. This is where life exists.

Living in the Gap

January 14, 2012 – Toddler Eyebrow Conversation

Words in parenthesis note what I think they are thinking and their eyebrows are saying.
Little Boy: Raises one eyebrow as he looks at little girl and toward something off limits. (Wanna’ do it? Think we’ll get away with it?)
Little Girl: Scrunches both eyebrows (No, I think we’ll get in trouble.)
Little Boy: Raises both eyebrows and repeats the glance. (Come on. Surely we can get by with it.)
Little Girl: Cocks her head and raises one eyebrow (Ok)
Little Boy: Raises and lowers both brows. (Yay, she’s in!)
Little Girl: Raises both brows (Now, this is going to be fun!)
Then Little Girl is sidetracked and picks up a toy and whacks Little Boy on the head.
Little Boy: Scrunches both brows and starts crying. (What’d you do that for?)
Little Girl: Raises both brows while pushing her face into his. (What’s your problem? I hit myself all the time, and it doesn’t hurt.)
Moral of this story: NEVER assume you know what one is saying with their eyebrows! And never let a toddler with raised eyebrow with a toy held high in the air near you!

20 thoughts on “On Writing And Life

  1. ” When sensation comes from the heart and soul it has a place in the body, even if that body hasn’t yet come to understand it. The thing is that what comes from within belongs.”

    You are so spot on about that, Suzi!

    “I was reminded of something done to a loved one and my mind was carried away in conversation with this person. I didn’t realize these thoughts had upset my breathing pattern………”

    Yes, and I can’t tell you how many times that happens to me. I’ll catch myself actually talking out loud while walking down the street, having a conversation with this person – telling them what I think.

    “Letting go of the incident and the pain allowed peace to enter. By far, I think the best thing that enters through silence is peace.”

    Yup…you’re right.

    I LOVED your Living in the Gap today.

    Moral of this story: NEVER assume you know what one is saying with their eyebrows! And never let a toddler with raised eyebrow with a toy held high in the air near you!

    HAHAHHAHAHAAHHAHAHA! Hilariously brilliant!

    Have a great Saturday, my friend…..X

  2. It must be another family trait. I get lost in thought and then someone will ask me why I’m mad or something and I haven’t realized that my whole countenance has changed. Lost in my own thoughts.

  3. When I want to empty in meditation, I put each thought in a boat and let it float away on the river. I’m pretty busy for a while, but eventually, I need fewer boats.

    Breath brings me back, too.

    My friend, the Early Childhood Educator, goes to help in Day Care as a volunteer. Her stories keep us in well supplied with laughter.

  4. I haven’t given much thought to using writing prompts but this sounds interesting. I might check it out at the library and see if I want a copy for myself. Thanks for sharing your insightful thoughts in such a poetic way. 🙂

    • It has given me a place to start writing, and then I venture into my own space once I warm up. Sometimes I manage to work the prompt into what I’m currently working on, and that is an added bonus. I think you will love the book. It is seriously my favorite of all books I have on writing.

  5. <e…."I don’t like it when thought obtrudes my well-being. Thoughts are invasive. They often come out of nowhere and create a life of their own; taking me places I need not visit." … Exactly!
    And, like you, my body reacts to those places without my consent … In those cases, I usually find myself writing… it is a way of talking to myself or whoever has invaded my mind. Often it is a rehashing of things that I thought I left far behind me .. guess we are just haunted by parts of our life.
    If you find a good way to make them vanish or control the thoughts better, please share … I loved your description of the dust particles … but, I sometimes don’t know how to vaporize them into dust 😉

    • Actually, I seldom use them for anything I post and when I do I credit the prompts. The majority of my posts are just things I see in life and nature and am inspired by.

Leave a Reply

