Bending Over Backwards

Most of us are known to bend over backwards in the name of love.
While it’s wonderful to love and be loved,
we should never do it at the cost of our own health.
We can only stretch so far before we pop out of shape.
When we get to the point we can no longer stand upright,
it is usually too late.
Don’t let yourself get to the point you wither and die.
Always be willing to love, support, and help within your means,
but the key is to know your limits.
Balance is difficult when it comes to love.

And of course, there are those rare ones who can bend over backwards and still thrive.
Maybe they just happen to have their own support systems;
the ones who provide for them when they’ve given out.
Maybe the truly beautiful are simply made of love;
love that is rooted and abundantly grows in all circumstances.
Maybe the answer is to do what we do in the name of love,
and the rest will follow.

Living in the Gap
January 9, 2012 – Spirit of shared song
My mother and I attended a memorial service for a friend. I noticed she did not participate in the singing of the first hymn. It occurred to me I’d never heard my mother sing; just as my own children have probably never heard me sing. I thought she probably never sang, because like me, she was embarrassed as to what others would think of her singing voice. The second hymn was “How Great Thou Art”. My mother started singing right along with me. Our shaky, squeaky voices somehow blended into melody with the many beautiful voices surrounding us. She and I were one with our timid reverence as we somehow managed to get past our insecurities and connect in song. At that moment, her voice was the most beautiful sound I’d ever heard. I’m sure God feels that way every time any of us sing. How special we are!

33 thoughts on “Bending Over Backwards

  1. As we discover in Hospice frequently, no matter how much we believe we are the givers, what we receive is uncanny.

    SuziCate, as a teen having to attend church with mother, I used to have fits of mortification over Mom’s singing. She knew the hymns well and didn’t we know it! At least that is what I believed at that time. Now when I hear some of the old hymns, I’d love to have her beside me again. I’d do what you did and blend right in with her.

  2. Brilliant photo captures, Suzi! The texture and lighting are awesome!

    Love your words….

    “Always be willing to love, support, and help within your means,
    but the key is to know your limits.

    Balance is difficult when it comes to love.”

    It sure is.

    And I also loved your Living In The Gap….

    “At that moment, her voice was the most beautiful sound I’d ever heard. I’m sure God feels that way every time any of us sing. How special we are!”

    Totally made my heart SMILE.

    Have a super Monday, my friend……X

  3. I have sung most of my life. I don’t have a good voice, but I can carry a tune. I sing loud and frequently. I sing to my kids, to my grandkids, and to my dogs. They seem to like it. My husband? Not so much. His loss!

    Those photos are exquisite.

  4. Your photos are amazing! Glad to hear you and your mom “let loose” and started singing, even if it took a memorial service for you both to do so. Singing is basically speaking in melody, and I’m certain God loves to hear us lift our voices and hearts!

  5. Funny, over the last few years of occasionally going to “church” with mama and daddy I found it oddly exhilarating for the first time hearing their voices. Mama sung occasionally but Daddy didn’t. The last time we went with them he sang and it was one of the most beautiful things I’ve heard! I don’t even know if he can carry a tune but hearing them both sing together brought such joy to my heart!

  6. when we look at nature, I really admire God who is the creator.
    I love the song How great Thou Art. That is one of the song in my wedding.
    I love to sing, though my voice might make others close their ears 😀
    Keep singing, Suzi, God see the sincerity of our hearts rather than our voices
    I always love your pictures, Suzi! Those are beautiful

  7. What you just described in the second part is love in action.

    The first part is a good warning, although I too wonder if I were a better person, would I be able to love better and longer and more compassionately.

    I think of Mother Teresa (one of my heroes in life), who said, “In this life we cannot do great things. We can only do small things with great love.”

    Also, “Spread love everywhere you go: First of all in your own house…let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier. Be the living expression of God’s kindness; kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile.”

    She had many other quotes, most of them dealing with love and every one resonated with me. When I fail in living up to the example she showed, I forgive myself by saying…I am not Mother Teresa. 🙂

  8. You continue to amaze me how you connect things. Trees bending people bending for love.

    I am certain you are right about God. Especially when we lift up our voices in praise to Him.

  9. Your last shot is fabulous! I love that tree. And your analogy is spot on as usual. I know someone that bends over backwards for everyone else except herself. And many people have taken advantage of that…much to the detriment of her mental and physical health. I wish she was more resilient.

Leave a Reply

