I Disappear As The Moon Rises

The night walked down the sky with the moon in her hand.  ~Frederick L. Knowles

Two days before the full moon

I’ve never been a night person, especially not the kind who likes to be outside in the dark. I’ve always found it to be quite eerie…except if I’m with someone bigger and stronger than me, someone I trust like Dirt Man. I enjoy star gazing and walking in the moonlight, but not alone. Maybe I’ve seen too many horror movies or listened to too many spooky campfire tales. Or maybe my cousins just scared the crap out of me when I was a kid by telling me that a UFO was coming to get me! When the sun starts to set, I withdraw to the comfort of my second skin, home.

I’m generally a sunshine girl. I like to see what surrounds me. I don’t like shadows. Unidentified sounds make me jump. Darkness weighs me down, not only constricting my movements but also my creativity. I brighten with the rising of the sun and flow within its rays.

Full Moon

There is something haunting in the light of the moon; it has all the dispassionateness of a disembodied soul, and something of its inconceivable mystery. ~Joseph Conrad

44 thoughts on “I Disappear As The Moon Rises

    • I’m ok with early morning, Cindy…I mostly just don’t like being outside in the dark ALONE! Nor am I nearly as energetic as I am during the daytime…I just feel pulled down in the darkness.

  1. I love looking at the moon and stars. Especially when it’s full. I do admit being outside in the dark alone is rather unnerving. I used to love it but in my old age I’ve gotten more leery. Maybe now I just realize all the stuff out there that can actually “get” me!

  2. I like your shots Suzicate. I am not usually a night person either, but for the past two decades of night dog walking, it has softened my stance on it.

    I especially enjoy a midnight Christmas morning walk when all of the kid presents have been constructed/wrapped.

  3. While I love looking at the moon and stars, I too am a child of the light. I think it might have something to do with my writer’s imagination running away with me — I hear strange noises in the dark, see things (like bats!), and feel “creeped out” at the powerlessness. You’ve captured this well.

  4. I used to love the moon, the stars…it didn’t bother me to be out alone in the dark (inside, in the dark was another matter). If the moon was bright enough, I could see well enough to dispel the shadows and the eerie feeling. I have always been a night person, so venturing outside was fun.

    Well, I’m still a night person, but I can’t see well enough anymore to dispel the shadows. So I’m content to watch the moon through the window. I still get excited though when I see it 🙂

  5. You and I have so much in common, however this is probably the only area where we differ, I LOVE nighttime.

    I actually get more alert and energetic as day moves into night. I also feel more creative after the sun goes down. For some reason, I love the darkness. I truly think I was a vampire in a past life because I come ALIVE at night – HA!

    GORGEOUS photographs, Suzi! I ADORE the moon!

    “There is something haunting in the light of the moon; it has all the dispassionateness of a disembodied soul, and something of its inconceivable mystery. ~Joseph Conrad”

    I so agree!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend! Have a MARVI Monday!

    X

    • That IS our big difference…I don’t know if I’ll ever become a night person. You also live and have lived in cities where night life is big which might make a difference. The only places here big on night life is the oceanfront/bar scene which I’m not into.

  6. I don’t see well in the dark, that is why it bothers me. However, at this time of year with the full moon and the snow … it is magical at night. The moon’s rays are reflected off the snow. It is so bright that there are shadows just like daylight. It is blue light and I find it enchanting and very special during the holiday season.

  7. I’m a “light” woman too, Suzicate. I’m not afraid of the dark, but it’s one reason I don’t like fall and winter. There is way too much dark. Spring arrives and I feel better every year. The renewal thing really works for me.

  8. The old saying when I was growing up was that there is nothing in the dark that is not there during the day.

    Very true. But there is a lot in the dark that was not awake during the day.

    They can see you. You can’t see them.

    Another great post, Suzi.

    • It’s awesome and a bit eerie with the clouds streaking around the moon. One night I got some pics with pinkish clouds that made sort of a halo around the moon…didn’t think they turned out that great since I took them with my cell phone while traveling doen the interstate. (I wasn’t the driver!)

  9. Oh, I am so a night person. I love the night. The dark, the quiet, the question of what is out there. I don’t necessarily love the night in a city because it is people that are scary, but out in the country where you can actually SEE the stars . . . . ahhhhh, heaven!

Leave a Reply

